Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Changes are not saving to my USB disk

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    16

    Default Changes are not saving to my USB disk

    Hello all,

    I have figure out how to install bt2 to an USB-Stick (Kingston DataTraveler 2.0, 2 Gb). And its up and running! What I want next is that my changes get stored on my USB-Stick.

    I am working on it from begin of the day (here it is now 10.55 PM) and I found some interesting topics: h||p://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7844&highlight=save+shamanvirtuel

    I have pick this line of it:
    Code:
    append  changes=/dev/sda3
    And change it to my situation:
    Code:
    append  changes=/dev/sdb1_removable
    (if I use sdb1 only, with no _removable I get an error and must press Ctrl+Alt+Del)

    What it does:
    - It writes nicely 2 folders to my USB-Stick root: folder 'changes' and folder 'images'.
    - It does *NOT* save my changes, I test it with an empty txt file on my desktop.

    Any help would be appreciated!

  2. #2
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    You are using a non linux format drive, ie it is fat and not ext2.

    If you follow this guide which you can modify sizes and partitions you include to your requirements, you will be fine.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Thanks for your reply, but the topic you mentioned is the link that I have post in my startpost.

    And yes you are right, it is FAT32. What should I do now?
    Should I format it as ext2, and then unpack the iso in Linux? I have followed your tutorial in the first place, but I was not able to use QTparted, it freezes when I add some partition...

    I hope you know what to do now, meanwhile I rumble further on ... :-)

  4. #4
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kvdd-NL View Post
    Thanks for your reply, but the topic you mentioned is the link that I have post in my startpost.

    And yes you are right, it is FAT32. What should I do now?
    Should I format it as ext2, and then unpack the iso in Linux? I have followed your tutorial in the first place, but I was not able to use QTparted, it freezes when I add some partition...

    I hope you know what to do now, meanwhile I rumble further on ... :-)
    I know it was, but the point was that you only have one partition when you need two. The first partition needs to be fat32 which has BT2 on and the second partition needs to be ext2 which is for saving the changes.

    The reason qtparted is freezing is because you are trying to work on a mounted drive, you need to umount it before you can work on it.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Thanks for the reply, you are right. What I have done now:

    - Download LiveCD of gParted
    - Boot with it
    - Create the following partitions: (thnx to balding_parrot)
    - I have now an 1 Gb FAT32, and have installed BT2 on it, with the BT2 4 WIN installer.
    - I have now an 1 Gb ext2 partition formatted with it.
    - I type this now with the BT2 installation
    - I have set the following again in the syslinux.cfg:
    Code:
    append changes=/dev/sdb2_removable
    But does not work again. What do I have to configure now?

    I am working with bt2 for 2 full days now :-)

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Thanks for your help balding_parrot, it is working now. I had to remove '_removable' in the code, and now its working.

    Thanks again!

    PS: for everyone that have problems with saving to USB: Check and double-check that you have an ext2 partition on your USB-Stick/Harddrive/USB-Drive, Linux would not save changes to Microsoft filesystems. (Such as FAT, FAT32 and NTFS).

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Hello KVVDNL,

    I have the same issue like yours, also the 2 gb traveler.
    1 gb = fat32
    1 gb = ext2

    1- BT2 4 WIN installer installed, I can boot now.
    2- inserted changes=/dev/sdb2 , in syslinux.cfg when I now boot I get an error during boot and it stops.

    should I do bootinst.bat like parrot said.
    Could you explain the exact steps in order that you have done..

    thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by kvdd-NL View Post
    Thanks for the reply, you are right. What I have done now:

    - Download LiveCD of gParted
    - Boot with it
    - Create the following partitions: (thnx to balding_parrot)
    - I have now an 1 Gb FAT32, and have installed BT2 on it, with the BT2 4 WIN installer.
    - I have now an 1 Gb ext2 partition formatted with it.
    - I type this now with the BT2 installation
    - I have set the following again in the syslinux.cfg:
    Code:
    append changes=/dev/sdb2_removable
    But does not work again. What do I have to configure now?

    I am working with bt2 for 2 full days now :-)

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by durana View Post
    Hello KVVDNL,

    I have the same issue like yours, also the 2 gb traveler.
    1 gb = fat32
    1 gb = ext2

    1- BT2 4 WIN installer installed, I can boot now.
    2- inserted changes=/dev/sdb2 , in syslinux.cfg when I now boot I get an error during boot and it stops.

    should I do bootinst.bat like parrot said.
    Could you explain the exact steps in order that you have done..

    thanks
    No, not really, in my case it works to do what you are saying.

    What I think the problem is with your bootable USB-Stick installation, is that you have defined a wrong harddisk-name. (Eg. it should be changes/dev/sdb3 or something).

    You don't have to install the whole installation again, just start Windows, and look in your FAT32 partition and change the .cfg again.

    If you want to see which name your harddisk has, start up with a bootable BT2 CD, and look in the 'explorer' at /mnt. (remember, don't put '_removable' after the hdname in the .cfg, as the the 'explorer' shows to you.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Hello kvddnl,

    Could you copy past your .cfg , so I can see what is yours exactly.

    durana

    in explorer i see : system:/media/sdb2
    bt ~ # mount
    tmpfs on / type tmpfs (rw)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,devgid=10,devmode=0666)
    /dev/sda1 on /mnt/sda1 type vfat (rw,noatime)
    /dev/sda2 on /mnt/sda2 type ntfs (ro,noatime)
    /dev/sda3 on /mnt/sda3 type ntfs (ro,noatime)
    /dev/sda5 on /mnt/sda5 type ext2 (rw,noatime)
    /dev/sda7 on /mnt/sda7 type reiserfs (rw,noatime)
    /dev/sdb2 on /mnt/sdb2_removable type ext2 (rw)
    /dev/sdb1 on /mnt/sdb1_removable type vfat (rw)
    bt ~ #

    .cfg
    PROMPT 1
    TIMEOUT 400
    DEFAULT bt

    label bt
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz
    append changes=/dev/sdb2 vga=0x317 max_loop=255 initrd=/boot/initrd.gz init=linuxrc load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 ramdisk_size=4444 root=/dev/ram0 rw

    label btsafe
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz
    append vga=769 max_loop=255 initrd=/boot/initrd.gz init=linuxrc load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 ramdisk_size=4444 root=/dev/ram0 rw

    label memtest86
    kernel /boot/memtest86p

    --------------------
    I get this error:
    ---------------------
    setup directory for changes
    starting usb support
    setup union directory (using aufs)
    mkdir: cannot create direcoty 'memory/changes' : input /output error
    fatal error occured - a read-only filesystem is not supported
    something went wrong and we can't continue. This should never happen
    pleas reboot your computer using crtl+alt+delete ....

    -----------------------
    When I remove append changes=/dev/sdb2 then I can but via the stick.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    66

    Default

    guyz,

    is there some one who can give ,me the tip , why it is not working?

    Durana

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •