Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Firefox missing plugin - java runtime environment

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    235

    Default Firefox missing plugin - java runtime environment

    Hi

    Firefox tells me that there is a missing plugin - java runtime environment.

    However it seems that java is installed in BT4.

    So whats wrong? What should I do.

    Well I have one solution, but its not good, I installed VMware and in there Windows Xp. Its not optional solution, but its work. However I would like to solve java issue in BT4

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Firefox missing plugin - java runtime environment

    So if java is installed did you enable it? Did you turn of the "no-script" add-on so that it will not interfere with java? Are there any error messages?
    I mean we can't help if you don't provide details.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Firefox missing plugin - java runtime environment

    hi,

    SUN java 6 is already installed, if you do a: java -version
    but not the necessary plugin.

    Install additional packages
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install sun-java6-plugin
    Start firefox and test if java is working:
    http://www.java.com/en/download/help/testvm.xml

    Of course you don't have to use SUN's engine; to check if you have other onces
    installed:
    Code:
    update-java-alternatives -l
    You can always switch to another release, with the command:
    Code:
     sudo update-java-alternatives -s {use one of the java engines you see with the list command}
    /brtw2003
    Last edited by brtw2003; 02-01-2010 at 08:56 AM.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: Firefox missing plugin - java runtime environment

    No-scrips is disabled, and Java is enabled in firefox, (aint that default?)

    There is no error message, ff tells that plugin is missing and leads ti javas page.


    Install additional packages
    Code:
    apt-get install sun-java6-plugin
    It worked, now firefox doesn tell no plugin, now it freezes, and I have to terminate ff.

Similar Threads

  1. Install BT4 over BT4pf with dual boot environment.
    By hhmatt in forum BackTrack Howtos
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-13-2010, 01:19 PM
  2. XSS Me - Firefox addon
    By btuser in forum Tool Requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 07:42 PM
  3. Firefox starting when logged in
    By MarkW7 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-31-2010, 08:29 PM
  4. Firefox 3.5.7
    By SignusX7 in forum Tool Requests
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 07:24 AM
  5. ettercap + own plugin
    By Falcon(TFSoft) in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2010, 08:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •