Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Error while changing MAC address

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy Error while changing MAC address

    bt ~ # macchanger -r eth0 [enter]
    Current MAC: 00:14:*:*:*:* (unknown)
    ERROR: Can't change MAC: interface up or not permission: Device or resource busy

    how do i change my mac address ?? thx in advnace

  2. #2
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rahul View Post
    bt ~ # macchanger -r eth0 [enter]
    Current MAC: 00:14:*:*:*:* (unknown)
    ERROR: Can't change MAC: interface up or not permission: Device or resource busy

    how do i change my mac address ?? thx in advnace
    The clue to your problem is in the error you got.

    This has been answered many times in the forum, search before asking a question.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default

    thx bro...

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    51

    Default

    ifconfig ath0 down
    macchanger -m 00:00:00:00:00 ath0

  5. #5
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    Err0r while chan9ing MAC address
    Please don't l33t sp34k, it will only make us ridicule you in the end.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  6. #6
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thorin View Post
    Please don't l33t sp34k, it will only make us ridicule you in the end.
    Not to mention make it impossible for others that are trying to search for answers to actually find them. Another reason why good English should be used when posting.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    220

    Default

    Im getting the exact same message:

    bt ~ # ifconfig -a
    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:CE:65:B9:EB
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:1819 errors:0 dropped:2 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1781 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:1
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:201 (201.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:18 Base address:0x2000 Memory:dfdf9000-dfdf9fff

    bt ~ # ifconfig eth1 down
    bt ~ # macchanger --mac 11:22:33:44:55:66 eth1
    Current MAC: 00:13:ce:65:b9:eb (unknown)
    ERROR: Can't change MAC: interface up or not permission: Cannot assign requested address
    Sometime I can change it, but I cant see a pattern, have spent almost an hour trying the commands in different orders. Even when it does change and I do the next command it seems to revert to the original MAC but tahts another problem.

    Any advice on how to get the mac change?
    wtf?

  8. #8
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    After you do "ifconfig eth1 down" check to see if it's actually down before trying to change the MAC.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    220

    Default

    Good call wasnt going down, even when tried 'sudo ...' (i know it shouldnt make a difference but tried it).

    Brought my Belkin card from home and goes down and changes a treat (bless the HCL on the wiki lol).

    Thanks for pointer thorin
    wtf?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •