Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Fatal error occured - can't setup union (aufs)

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    4

    Talking Fatal error occured - can't setup union (aufs)

    Dear All,

    Having not long entered the World of Linux, I have already developed a fundamental understanding of this novel OS through using various distributions such as CentOS, Fedora and Ubuntu and was recently intrigued about BT 2, so decided to give it a whirl.

    Unfortunately, when I try to install from CD on my pre-historic Satellite Pro 4600 laptop, an error occurs whilst the setup runs the Linux Live scripts.

    It gets to the point of setting up 'union directory' and this is what I get:

    * setup union directory (using aufs)
    mount: Mounting aufs on union failed: No such device
    Fatal error occured - can't setup union (aufs)
    * Something went wrong and we can't continue. This should never happen.
    * Please reboot your computer with Ctrl+Alt+Delte ...
    / #

    Has anybody got any ideas as to what is going wrong here? Perhaps it’s just my lack of experience getting myself into a muddle? Can someone save me from the depths of Linux Live scripts ?

    Many thanks in advance!

    Regards,

    Paul.

  2. #2
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    The wiki says that there are no problems with that laptop, does it work from the live cd ?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default

    When you say Live CD - are you referring to the official .iso image that I burned onto CD? In which case no, that's the disk I'm trying to boot from but to no avail.

    Thanks for your speedy reply!

    Regards,

    Paul.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,334

    Default

    First things first,

    Did you verify the md5sum of your d/l?
    Try burning at slowest speed possible?

    Are you actually trying to install BT2 (as per your comment) or are you just trying to get it to boot the livecd??
    You mention installing, but it sounds more like a "booting the livecd" issue....

    If you are actually installing to hdd, which method are you using?

  5. #5
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sir Smile-a-lot View Post
    When you say Live CD - are you referring to the official .iso image that I burned onto CD? In which case no, that's the disk I'm trying to boot from but to no avail.

    Thanks for your speedy reply!

    Regards,

    Paul.
    In That case it sounds like you either have a faulty downloaded iso or you burnt a good iso too fast.

    1. Check the MD5 of the iso you downloaded. if corrupt download a new one, if good procede to step two.
    2. Burn at the slowest speed possible (2-4x) using imgburn on windows or you favourite linux burning software.

    3. Boot again

    4. Report back

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I have the same problem with live CD. I using DELL inspiron 1501.

    I guess that my hard disk is SATA and the live CD wont run by that reason.
    But here is no extra boot parameters for this.

    The live CD run's perfect on much older PC.

    Please advice me!

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I have already downloaded the iso from two different mirrors and each time verified the MD5 checksum as well as having adjusted the burning speeds, but that doesn't seem to make any difference.

    To reply to Re@lity's comment, I am trying to install BT to HDD, but can't get past the boot phase on the Live CD in order to do so.

    Many thanks for your support!

    Regards,

    Paul.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    4

    Thumbs up

    Tried changing CD media to better quality Maxell's, burnt the image and attempted to boot.

    I'm pleased to say all is going well and BT is now installing to HDD!

    Many, many thanks for your help !

    Cheerio for now,

    Paul.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,334

    Default

    Glad you got it sorted.
    It's nearly always going to be a bad d/l (md5sum check) or media must be burned at slower speed, or change to better quality media.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I look up again and saw that my error is different:

    linuxrc: linuxrc: 150: cannot create union/etc/fstab: Directrory nonexistent
    *changing root directory...
    Fatal error occured - Can't find executable chroot command
    Something went wrong ....
    Please reboot your.....bla...bla

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •