Thread: Packet capture very slow on desktop and laptop doesn't find networks

Just burned his ISO

Smile Packet capture very slow on desktop and laptop doesn't find networks

Hi, I'm new to backtrack 2 I just downloaded it yesterday and burned it to a CD. I started working with it yesterday on my computer to try and hack my network's WEP key. The adapter I have on my computer is a WUSB54G. It's a usb external one. I am able to find 2 networks and get all the way to cracking but when I try cracking it says I do not have enough packets. My packet capture is going very slow though, about 16 packets a second. At that speed it would take me over 16 hours to crack my WEP key on my network. I cannot understand why it is soo slow because I saw a few videos online where the packets are captured at about 1000+ a second. If it is needed I can post all the commands that I used.

My other problem is me and my friend tried using his laptop to try and crack my network after it didn't work with my adapter. He has a HP Pavilion dv9610us. Backtrack is able to detect the internal wifi but when I try searching for networks it does not find anything even though we are about 15 feet from my router and many other networks as well are detected in windows.

Any help and solutions would be greatly appreciated, thanks everyone.

Just burned his ISO

Bump, please can someone help me out?

Can you supply some details?

What commands/syntax are you are using??
    Etc........

Your friends laptop - what wifi card does it have?
    How are you searching for AP's?
    Etc......

How many AP's can you see, or are trying to crack?
    How far away are they?

You won't get any useful answers without supplying details...........

Also, how is this a problem with the physical disc itself?
    MOVED: to wireless

Just burned his ISO

These are the commands that I used in their order:

First of all I opened up Kismet and saw that my adapter was named rausb0.

iwconfig rausb0 mode monitor