Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Installer won't work

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default Installer won't work

    First of all, I would like to introduce myself since I hate to drop in and start asking questions immidiatly.
    I found backtrack when I was searching for pentesting and auditing software for testing security, learn more about it and learn more about using linux.
    I'm not a compleet Linux noob though, I've used Ubuntu & Fedora before, but never really worked with it.

    Anyway, my problem in short: If I run the backtrack installer, it stuck on 81%. Now, I know this happens more, but if I try to reboot BackTrack after 2 and a half hours it was still on 81%, and I couldn't use any of backtracks features.
    Before I'll explain my steps, it might be handy to tell I can only make 2 partitions, since I have a PQDRIVE partitions which I DON'T WANT to delete, and I don't want to delete my windows partition.

    So, I did everything according to the tutorial from Offensive Security, but then using 2 partitions instead of 3:
    Booting live CD
    Creating ext3 partition (8gb) + swap partition (512 mb)
    Made & mounted a "boot" and "bt2" dir on the ext3 partition (in /tmp)
    Run the installer, Source: /boot
    Install to: /tmp/bt2
    Write MBR to: /dev/hda
    Waited for 2 hours, tried to run the shell to reboot but won't work
    Rebooted PC manually
    Started in WinXP

    My partition:
    /dev/hda1 = PQSERVICE
    /dev/hda2 = Windows
    /dev/hda3 = Linux Swap
    /dev/hda4 = Linux ext3

    I hope you could help me out, since I couldn't find it anywhere in the tutorials.
    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Post your lilo.conf please. That will help us to be able to diagnose your problem much better. Or are you that far into the install??
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Yess, I can't get further than 81%...
    My system will simply freeze, and I can't do anything else then reboot it manually.
    Then, BT will not be installed and it boots my Windows XP.

    EDIT:
    I'm using a DVD instead of a CD and I read that it corrupts an install 50% of the time.
    Maybe burning it to a CD will solve the problem?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CiRiUS View Post
    Yess, I can't get further than 81%...
    My system will simply freeze, and I can't do anything else then reboot it manually.
    Then, BT will not be installed and it boots my Windows XP.

    EDIT:
    I'm using a DVD instead of a CD and I read that it corrupts an install 50% of the time.
    Maybe burning it to a CD will solve the problem?
    DEFINITELY do a CD burn..NO DVD!!!.

    And just some friendly "Wisdom" I'm gonna share with you.....

    RE-DOWNLOAD BT2...don't use a download manager.

    Burn it as SLOW as possible on a CD-R

    then try the installer again.


    ***Edit***

    You do have everything like this when installing don't you????>>>>>>>




    or as /dev/hda if you don't have a sda drive.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  5. #5
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Did you check the md5 of the iso before burning ?

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I downloaded the backtrack iso by uTorrent.
    Burning it with nero as low as possible atm.

    @xploitz: yes, those are my settings

    @balding_parot: no, but I'm doing that asap.

    Thanks for helping guys.

    Just one question, it IS possible to install backtrack using 2 partitions (a swap and ext3) right?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CiRiUS View Post
    I downloaded the backtrack iso by uTorrent.
    Didn't you read what I posted??

    Quote Originally Posted by -=Xploitz=- View Post
    And just some friendly "Wisdom" I'm gonna share with you.....

    RE-DOWNLOAD BT2...don't use a download manager.
    A download manager can and usually does corrupt your download...even a torrent. Dl with one connection to here....

    Mirror 1 - provided by SWITCHmirror

    http://mirror.switch.ch/ftp/mirror/b...k/bt2final.iso


    MD5:
    990940d975f13d8418b0daa175560ae0

    Then check its MD5
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  8. #8
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    I don't recommend nero for burning iso's.

    Try image burn. for a few reasons.
    1. its free
    2. slowest speed = 2x
    3. its free
    4. its free

    I also noticed in your first post that your source on the installer was /boot. That field should be left blank. I just hadnt seen this mentioned yet but if you look at the pic 'sploitzie posted you can see what i mean.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by purehate View Post
    I don't recommend nero for burning iso's.

    Try image burn. for a few reasons.
    1. its free
    2. slowest speed = 2x
    3. its free
    4. its free

    I also noticed in your first post that your source on the installer was /boot. That field should be left blank. I just hadnt seen this mentioned yet but if you look at the pic 'sploitzie posted you can see what i mean.
    sploitzie??



    My name keeps getting more jacked up by my friends more than the no0bies do!!

    BTW..I figured when I said make sure you have it just like the pic...he would have gotten that one (as a given)...but hey...you never know..I've seen no0bies do worse than that...

    Like ask where the good tutorials are.

    HHmmm...I can't think of where any good WEP or WPA/WPA2 tutorials are ATM.....especially any good videos....

    Maybe youtube??

    oh well..
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  10. #10
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    Just a friendly joke. My wife is always making fun of purehate.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •