Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Origins of scans

Default Origins of scans

Hi,

I have a question for all you guys out there running IDS systems. I have been running an IDS (snort) on my network for the past 6 months, and I am noticing that almost all the scans/attempted hacks are coming from the following countries:

China
    Singapore
    Taiwan
    Korea
    Czech Republic
    UK

(the first is the most frequent, the last is the least)

My IDS is on the network for a small organization on the east coast of the US, and as far as I know, my group has no connections, business or otherwise, with any of these countries.

I tried searching the net for these IP addresses, most of the time I did not find anything.

Why are all the scans coming from these countries/areas? Are there a large group of “proxies” or other means of concealing one’s IP in these countries that I do not know about?

Thanks.

Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA

Quote Originally Posted by anubis2k7 View Post
    Hi,

I have a question for all you guys out there running IDS systems. I have been running an IDS (snort) on my network for the past 6 months, and I am noticing that almost all the scans/attempted hacks are coming from the following countries:

China
    Singapore
    Taiwan
    Korea
    Czech Republic
    UK

(the first is the most frequent, the last is the least)

My IDS is on the network for a small organization on the east coast of the US, and as far as I know, my group has no connections, business or otherwise, with any of these countries.

I tried searching the net for these IP addresses, most of the time I did not find anything.

Why are all the scans coming from these countries/areas? Are there a large group of “proxies” or other means of concealing one’s IP in these countries that I do not know about?

Thanks.