Thread: I think I've 'broken' Python. After working on the solution for 2 days, I need help..

Just burned their ISO

Default I think I've 'broken' Python. After working on the solution for 2 days, I need help..

Hello there!

I'm new to the BackTrack. Well, I have been messing with the distros since the times of Auditor, but now I'm getting really into it.

I have been using GNU/Linux from time to time, but I lack a solid base, so sometimes I get stuck.

Well, here's my problem. I've installed BT5r3 and updated lots of applications I regulary use without any big problems. But, once, I don't remember for what specific program, I was required to install Python2.7 so I did it, from the sources (yeah, I didn't know about the "make altinstall" thingy), and that was the start of my problems.

I discovered about pythonbrew, which is a tool for switching between Python version, but it never worked for me. I mean, it runs without errors, but it didn't change nothing, so I had to manually edit $PATH and $PYTHONPATH.

After many, many readings, research, testing, installing, uninstalling, reinstalling... I achieved a point where launching Python scripts from the console uses Python 2.6.5 (installed by default in BT5r3, and which I want to use), but, and here is the strange thing, launching Python scripts from the BackTrack menu throws errors like this:

Code:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "execute.py", line 8, in <module>
        from PyQt4 import QtGui,QtCore
    ImportError: No module named PyQt4
    I think the gnome command interpreter, or whatever way are the programs run by the GUI menu, is calling the wrong python version, because I got the same errors by using in the terminal:

Code:
    root@bt:/pentest/web/sslstrip# python2.7 sslstrip.py
      File "sslstrip.py", line 27, in <module>
        from twisted.web import http
    ImportError: No module named twisted.web
    I see two possible solutions here: