Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Installing Backtrack 5 R3 on a New partition

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2

    Post Installing Backtrack 5 R3 on a New partition

    I am facing problem when I'm trying to install backtrack 5 on my newly created partition.

    Well to elaborate. I'm using windows 7 and want to create a dual boot. I've formatted one of my partition to install backtrack 5 R3 on that partition. I'm using a USB Stick to boot. But at the install Backtrack 5 r3. But it is not getting the partitions it is only getting 465.xx GB which is my full harddisk volume and 100MB windows loader. I searched alot but couldn't find any solution to make it work.

    I use windows Disk management to create that partition earlier.

    That will be a great help if anyone can provide a full guide to do that (much appreciate if can be done with screenshots). I think there is some more people facing same problem. I searched all over the forums but couldn't get the problem solved(maybe there is some flaws in my search). Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Installing Backtrack 5 R3 on a New partition

    if the 100mb partition is available, so you have create an primary partition like that.
    maybe your problem solving.( sorry bad eng )

  3. #3
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Installing Backtrack 5 R3 on a New partition

    If it is UEFI, you will end up with a lots of problems trying to install any linux distro. Although there is a "work-around" solution, it is not easy.

    If not UEFI (GPT partition), I strongly suggest NOT to use any windows partitioner or partition creator applications. Use gparted, is included in the USB live you are booting from.

    You need to create 2 partitions: one with ext4 filesystem and the other one as swap. Not only one..The swap can be a 1gb partition.

    Then, BT5 will be able to see them both.

  4. #4
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Installing Backtrack 5 R3 on a New partition

    Thanks maverik35 for your help. I'll try this out I'm Downloading gparted now.

  5. #5
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Installing Backtrack 5 R3 on a New partition

    Hay!
    I installed BT5R3 on a partition Dual Boot with Windows 7 ! It was all well! I restarted it in BT and in Windows 7 everything was fine ! But next day when i restarted My PC again there was nothing!

    My PC isn't loading anything it just get stuck in black window with a cursor blinking and nothing else!

    i'm sorry i'm posting it in old thread !Actually i'm new here and i couldn't find how to make a new post!

  6. #6

    Default Re: Installing Backtrack 5 R3 on a New partition

    Jinkazama. Hopefully this is a minor issue. I've heard this happen before. Can't quite remember what the solution was, but it sounds like Grub might be corrupt or perhaps a modeset issue?.

    First I've read somewhere that holding down shift during the first boot might fix the problem, so give that a quick try. (Not sure though) If that doesn't work.. I recommend, to use a LiveCD/USB version to boot from. That way you can ensure your drive is still intact, if you see everything then it should be a simple matter of fixing grub. (You can backup important files to another USB to be safe like docs, pics etc) If your installation is intact then try adding
    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="nomodeset acpi=force"
    to the grub file, "pico /etc/default/grub".. run "update-grub"

    Assuming the Grub is corrupt, then
    From the LiveCD/USB in a terminal window, go ahead and type "fdisk -l" to see your partitions. From there, mount the primary drive, example "mount /dev/sda2 /mnt". Install Grub, "grub-install --root-directory=/mnt /dev/sda" .. and finally update grub, "update-grub".. Then restart. Hopefully that will fix the issue.

    Let us know

Similar Threads

  1. Installing BackTrack 5 onto HDD (dual boot) partition with VirtualBox
    By ryebread in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-17-2012, 07:43 PM
  2. Installing Backtrack on ext2 partition?
    By joe0855 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-09-2011, 02:44 AM
  3. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-01-2011, 10:37 AM
  4. Installing backtrack on an existing partition
    By Murt2003 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-05-2010, 01:39 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 12:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •