Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 94

Thread: How to convert BT2 to slackware 12 HDD install

  1. #31
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default

    well, now it went better,

    i am indeed in slackware 12,

    i also have the HAL problem,

    and something else:

    if i startup a shell, see: -bash-3.1#

    so i guess something went wrong here, but it's not that bad,

    i can fix that later,

    so i'm gonna see and hope i can get a bit further now
    atleast lilo is still working fine

  2. #32
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default

    im now here: looking very good...

    slapt-get --update && slapt-get --upgrade

    lol, i have to get 800MB of packages... luckily i found a mirror i get 20 mbit from

    so constantly downloading at 15-20 mbit

  3. #33
    Very good friend of the forum drgr33n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dark side of the moon ...
    Posts
    699

    Default

    Check post 24 for your HAL problem. Glad to hear you got it installed in the end and kernel panic might be down to you not configuring your hardware correctly in the .config file before you compile your new kernel.

  4. #34
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default

    well i didn't change anything the 2nd time, so i don't know exactly.

    now i'm upgrading about 200 different languages for kde,

    to bad i don't know how to turn that option off...

    btw, is your msn adress still correct?

    ps:

    i really like the new shell....

    everytime i start it, i get a small story
    so during this install ( still going ) i've started the shell more times then ever... and closed it just as often

    a bit offtopic ... but it still is funny:

    http://pjottrr.no-ip.org/plaatjes/easteregg1.jpg

  5. #35
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Greetings BT Masters. This is my first post and hello!

    about 3 weeks ago I was a windows user since I ever started using pcs. My supervisor has shown me the light (gasp!) of linux and for the past 3 weeks I was dabbling seriously with linux since my internship requires me to do pentesting for the greater good.

    This is my current loadout of partitions on my laptop ( no windows at all!)

    sda1 --> Ubuntu 7.10 (Gutsy) (35 GB)
    -------free space 10GB-------
    sda2-->linux swap (1GB)
    sda3-->BT2 boot (64MB)
    sda4 --->BT2 (10GB)

    I've been lurking in the forums and trying to learn and do things myself with trying to get my graphics display to run at its native resolution (1280 X 800) on my presario V3658TU. Working the hours away on 1024 X 768 on my screen really is painful.

    From what I understand is that to get it running at that resolution as well as getting compiz to run on BT is that I would need the slackware 12 upgrade. I'm stuck at trying to get my BT2 partition to 16GB.

    Qtparted just refuses to let me move my partitions below the free space. I move the linux swap and it just says scanning all disks with the ok button available to click so I did. Nothing happened, nothing to commit. This is from the live cd environment, like how mutz shown on his video tutorial . Is there something I am doing wrong?

  6. #36
    Very good friend of the forum drgr33n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dark side of the moon ...
    Posts
    699

    Default

    hey BTPadawan

    [code]
    fdisk /dev/sda
    [code]

    Delete 4 and follow this guide

    Code:
    -Command (m for help): n [ENTER]
    Command action
       e   extended
       p   primary partition (1-4)
    -p
    -Partition number (1-4): 4 [ENTER]
    -First cylinder (yadayada): [ENTER]
    Using default value 4
    
    Then for 16gb
    
    -Last cylinder or +size or +sizeM or +sizeK (yadayada) +16000M 
    
    -Command (m for help): w [ENTER]
    The partition table has been altered!
    
    Calling ioctl() to re-read partition table.
    Syncing disks.
    Now format the partition

    Code:
    mkfs.ext3 -b 4096 /dev/sda4
    And you are done.

  7. #37
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default

    i think i have an addition to this to save quite some harddisk space...

    just run everything from a dvd, it makes everything a bit complicated with mounting and paths you use.., but for me it worked..

    that means 10-12 should do the trick...


    my own backtrack partition is: 13 gb
    after installation there is 7.3 gb in use...


    but i have no clue how much oi used totally during installation


    Dr_GrEeN, please correct me if i'm wrong... but i guess a 10 gb should do the trick

  8. #38
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    sorry for the double post, something must have went wrong somewhere

    For this morning ( yes it's morning here ) I'm gonna attempt a dvd installation then, Now I just need to figure out how to combine my slackware download of 3 isos first. I dedicated this whole weekend to trying to get my BT2 upgrade done. I'll update here when I make some progress.

    Thanks for the responses.

  9. #39
    Very good friend of the forum drgr33n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dark side of the moon ...
    Posts
    699

    Default

    pjottrr what are you talking about you nutter?? what copy the iso to a dvd and upgrading from that???

  10. #40
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default

    It worked like a charm

Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •