Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Sound not working in my BT5 R3

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default Sound not working in my BT5 R3

    Hello guys...
    i m suffering from serious sound problem of my backtrack...

    i followed the most commonly used method and suggestion given on all forums

    Added
    /usr/bin/pulseaudio
    to startup commands and now i can adjust volume level only but still there is no sound

    here is output of lspci

    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family DRAM Controller (rev 09)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200/2nd Generation Core Processor Family PCI Express Root Port (rev 09)
    00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
    00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 (rev 05)
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev b5)
    00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 5 (rev b5)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 (rev 05)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation H61 Express Chipset Family LPC Controller (rev 05)
    00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family 4 port SATA IDE Controller (rev 05)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 05)
    00:1f.5 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family 2 port SATA IDE Controller (rev 05)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV535 [Radeon X1650 Series] (rev 9e)
    01:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV535 [Radeon X1650 Series] (rev 9e)
    03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)
    Please help.. thanks

  2. #2
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Sound not working in my BT5 R3

    System --- Preferences --- StartUP Applications
    StartUP Programs - ADD
    Name: Fix Audio Control issue
    Command: /usr/bin/pulseaudio

    after reboot, you can control the volume.

  3. #3
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Sound not working in my BT5 R3

    How about filtering the output: lspci | grep -i audio

    Then taking the pci is from output (xx:xx.x) see the type of driver used: lspci -vvs xx:xx.x

    At the end you will get the driver used by kernel.

    If possible, also post the "dmesg" output, but please, filter it: dmesg | grep -i snd

    Just for the record, have you enabled the "front speackers" in alsa?...

    Luck.

  4. #4
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Sound not working in my BT5 R3

    Quote Originally Posted by linou View Post
    System --- Preferences --- StartUP Applications
    StartUP Programs - ADD
    Name: Fix Audio Control issue
    Command: /usr/bin/pulseaudio

    after reboot, you can control the volume.
    i already said i added it

  5. #5
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Sound not working in my BT5 R3

    How about filtering the output: lspci | grep -i audio

    Then taking the pci is from output (xx:xx.x) see the type of driver used: lspci -vvs xx:xx.x

    At the end you will get the driver used by kernel.

    i got this

    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)
    Subsystem: Giga-byte Technology Device a002
    Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx+
    Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
    Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 64 bytes
    Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 43
    Region 0: Memory at f7f00000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
    Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
    Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=55mA PME(D0+,D1-,D2-,D3hot+,D3cold+)
    Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
    Capabilities: [60] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable+
    Address: 00000000fee0200c Data: 4171
    Capabilities: [70] Express (v1) Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
    DevCap: MaxPayload 128 bytes, PhantFunc 0, Latency L0s <64ns, L1 <1us
    ExtTag- RBE- FLReset+
    DevCtl: Report errors: Correctable- Non-Fatal- Fatal- Unsupported-
    RlxdOrd- ExtTag- PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop-
    MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 128 bytes
    DevSta: CorrErr- UncorrErr- FatalErr- UnsuppReq- AuxPwr+ TransPend-
    LnkCap: Port #0, Speed unknown, Width x0, ASPM unknown, Latency L0 <64ns, L1 <1us
    ClockPM- Suprise- LLActRep- BwNot-
    LnkCtl: ASPM Disabled; Disabled- Retrain- CommClk-
    ExtSynch- ClockPM- AutWidDis- BWInt- AutBWInt-
    LnkSta: Speed unknown, Width x0, TrErr- Train- SlotClk- DLActive- BWMgmt- ABWMgmt-
    Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel <?>
    Capabilities: [130] Root Complex Link <?>
    Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
    Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel
    If possible, also post the "dmesg" output, but please, filter it: dmesg | grep -i snd

    [ 11.807174] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 22
    [ 11.807219] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: irq 43 for MSI/MSI-X
    [ 11.807245] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: setting latency timer to 64
    Just for the record, have you enabled the "front speackers" in alsa?...
    not sure how can i get alsa ... i tried alsamixer bt its not opening

    Luck.

  6. #6
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Sound not working in my BT5 R3

    Open up a terminal and just type : alsamixer

    Check your options and settings.

  7. #7
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Sound not working in my BT5 R3

    Quote Originally Posted by maverik35 View Post
    Open up a terminal and just type : alsamixer

    Check your options and settings.
    root@bt:~# alsamixer
    cannot load mixer controls: Invalid argument

  8. #8
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Sound not working in my BT5 R3

    Then try pulseaudio --start or just pulseaudio or from the menu, in Sound..Try it.

Similar Threads

  1. Sound Not Working Backtrack 5
    By dido3267 in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-26-2011, 11:11 AM
  2. BT5-gnome-64, startx not working, no sound
    By aothis in forum BackTrack 5 Bugs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-24-2011, 08:14 AM
  3. Hdmi Sound Not Working
    By 2901119 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-15-2011, 11:59 AM
  4. Not working sound, BT4 Acer Aspire 3692WLMi
    By paul07x in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-18-2010, 07:11 AM
  5. things not working LAN, sound, dvd-rom
    By oseloth in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-07-2008, 11:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •