Thread: Problem installing BT5 r3 side by side win7

Hybrid View

Just burned their ISO

Exclamation Problem installing BT5 r3 side by side win7

Hi there.

im new in backtrack and trying to install it side by side with windows.
    But when i boot usb duble click on install and getting to screen where you can chose install BT5 side by side with windows it does not show my windows installed so options i have is: erase entire disk; use largest free space or select partition manually.

Could anyone help me please...

thanks

Default Re: Problem installing BT5 r3 side by side win7

If the option is not there for you alternatively you can try a manual partitioning
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

Just burned their ISO

I had the exact same problem as you! I then had to partition some space using BT5's advanced method. Select the partition manually. Then go to your primary hard drive and give some space for linux. This will allow you to install it side by side. I did this and it worked for me. If you need any more help, feel free to message me!

Just burned their ISO

yea that what I say to do also... Also, if I am wrong, someone correct me, But what I did was this:
    get into windows
    Run Disk Manager (select for partiting and renaming partitions)
    right click on your main HD
    Shrink volume down enough so you have atleast 20-25gb for BT
    format it as ntsf
    give it a new drive Letter and New Name
    save it,
    then when you get to your option screen... if you use your slider, you will see the new FREE SPACE that you jsut created... if it is the largest free space you have
    then you can use the thiird option i think it is, which selects the next largest space(after your C: drive) to install BT to...
    Then continue your intallation from there!

Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar