Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Leitmotif: BT-R3 as VM in VirtualBox - no IP via DHCP, using wifi on host

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default Leitmotif: BT-R3 as VM in VirtualBox - no IP via DHCP, using wifi on host

    I read quite a few postings, all over, concerning issues with getting an IP via DHCP, when the host machine uses wifi, and BT-R3 runs as a VM inside Oracle's VirtualBox. Because my environment is different than some others (I use a macbook pro w/mountain lion and only wifi - as the new ones come out nowadays), who use windows, I believe that the common thread is:
    - Virtual Box
    - wifi on host
    - BT-R3

    Here is what I tried, so far:
    - NAT or bridge mode for the adapter - no change
    - wicd "fix-up" (as suggested on the BT site) - no change
    - install BT-R3 on a wired (ethernet port available) older macbook pro -> BT-R3 gets an IP over DHCP; switching to wifi - no change

    ifdown->ifup-ing the interface in BT reveals a never answered (no offer) to DHCPDISCOVER.
    tcpdump-ing eth0 reveals actually NOTHING coming in and out of the interface.

    Any ideas / suggestions?

    TIA,
    Stefan

  2. #2
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: Leitmotif: BT-R3 as VM in VirtualBox - no IP via DHCP, using wifi on host

    This seems more like a VirtualBox issue.
    Try:
    Code:
    dhclient eth0
    Nothing much more that I can tell you since I don't use VirtualBox.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

Similar Threads

  1. CopyPaste VirtualBox guest<->host not working
    By ltheonel in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-17-2011, 11:26 AM
  2. Host: Ubuntu10.04 Emu:BT4 R1 on VirtualBox - Networking
    By brodeur235 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-23-2010, 11:34 AM
  3. Running BT3 in VirtualBox with a 64bit host
    By AbsolutePower in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-30-2009, 07:03 PM
  4. DHCP and VirtualBox
    By djXternal in forum OLD Latest Public Release - BackTrack4 Beta
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-09-2009, 12:52 AM
  5. Host name as seen in AP's DHCP leases
    By insider in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-17-2008, 02:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •