Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: "Error Loading Operating System"

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default "Error Loading Operating System"

    I had Backtrack 2.0 installed before, but when I install it now on my laptop according to the pdf guide on wiki, it doesn't boot... just gives me a black screen with the words "Error loading operating system_"
    Any ideas? Changing the boot flag with cpm doesn't help.

    I don't know what info to supply, but ask and i'll answer.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    You dual booting??

    If so...try the video...

    http://www.offensive-security.com/mo.../dualboot.html

    just remember where the "mistakes" are and put in the appropriate info.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    No, i'm not. I've played with ubuntu for 3 months or so, but backtrack is my favorite distro. I have a 100 gb HD, with swap and ext3 partitons. I currently have the backtrack partition flagged with boot. Is that right?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ToxicHack3r View Post
    No, i'm not. I've played with ubuntu for 3 months or so, but backtrack is my favorite distro. I have a 100 gb HD, with swap and ext3 partitons. I currently have the backtrack partition flagged with boot. Is that right?
    Yes, I believe that is correct. Sorry..but I don't have access to my BT2.

    So then, BT2 is the only thing on your HD right??

    What does / did your lilo.conf look like?

    You may want to try re-downloading BT2 and re-burn it at a slow speed.
    Also..USE CD-r no CD-RW

    Delete all of your partition(s)..and start over.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -=Xploitz=- View Post
    Yes, I believe that is correct. Sorry..but I don't have access to my BT2.

    So then, BT2 is the only thing on your HD right??

    What does / did your lilo.conf look like?

    You may want to try re-downloading BT2 and re-burn it at a slow speed.
    Also..USE CD-r no CD-RW

    Delete all of your partition(s)..and start over.
    Yes, that's correct, BT2 is the only OS on my hard drive.
    The copy I got was from the hackin9 magazine, so I would hope they burned it correctly. But I did use this same disk to install it last time I had it. I don't think it's changed...

    lilo.conf:


    boot = /dev/hda
    prompt
    map = /map.lilo
    timeout = 20
    bitmap=/boot/splash.bmp
    change-rules
    #bmp-colors=<fg>,<bg>,<sh>,<hfg>,<hbg>,<hsh>
    reset
    vga = 0x317
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
    initrd=/boot/initrd.gz
    root=/dev/ram0
    label = bt
    append="max_loop=255 init=linuxrc load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 ramdisk_size=4444 rw"



    EDIT: One second, think I might have found it.

    Nevermind, I thought changing the first line to /dev/hda3, the partition I installed bt2 to, might have helped. Maybe not.

  6. #6
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    That's a lilo.conf for a live install although slightly modified, obviously by the mag you got it from, and you are trying to use it on a full install from your description.
    So that's your problem.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ToxicHack3r View Post
    Yes, that's correct, BT2 is the only OS on my hard drive.
    The copy I got was from the hackin9 magazine, so I would hope they burned it correctly. But I did use this same disk to install it last time I had it. I don't think it's changed...

    lilo.conf:


    boot = /dev/hda
    prompt
    map = /map.lilo
    timeout = 20
    bitmap=/boot/splash.bmp
    change-rules
    #bmp-colors=<fg>,<bg>,<sh>,<hfg>,<hbg>,<hsh>
    reset
    vga = 0x317
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
    initrd=/boot/initrd.gz
    root=/dev/ram0
    label = bt
    append="max_loop=255 init=linuxrc load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 ramdisk_size=4444 rw"

    Wow!! Thats one ugly looking Lilo!!!

    Are you using hda or sda??? If you have a fairly new comp..use sta instead of hda.

    matter of fact...

    trash that cd from that hacking magazine...(thats probably the reason why itys not working...you've been pwned)and go here and dl it..and follow the dual boot video...but at the end...leave off the windows crud..and you'll be fine.

    OFFICIAL BT2 D/L...
    Mirror 1 - provided by SWITCHmirror

    http://mirror.switch.ch/ftp/mirror/b...k/bt2final.iso

    MD5: 990940d975f13d8418b0daa175560ae0


    Dual boot video...

    http://www.offensive-security.com/mo.../dualboot.html


    as I stated before..there are 2 errors on the video...I cant remember them right now...but someone here must remember where they are...can anybody lend me a hand please??

    Thanks.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •