Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: -=SOLVED=- BT2 HD install help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    33

    Default -=SOLVED=- BT2 HD install help

    I'm trying to install BT to my harddrive, and I'm not a user of linux AT ALL.. tried both google & SEARCH and nothing is helping.. problem is when i do
    system>backtrack installer, press REAL then INSTALL, it says done after a second.. now, i know 2700mb takes a little longer than that ;-).. what am i doing wrong?
    also, the screen says:

    Source:
    Install backtrack to: /mnt/hda1
    Write MBR to: /dev/hda


    thanks in advance...

  2. #2
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hattrick View Post
    I'm trying to install BT to my harddrive, and I'm not a user of linux AT ALL.. tried both google & SEARCH and nothing is helping.. problem is when i do
    system>backtrack installer, press REAL then INSTALL, it says done after a second.. now, i know 2700mb takes a little longer than that ;-).. what am i doing wrong?
    also, the screen says:

    Source:
    Install backtrack to: /mnt/hda1
    Write MBR to: /dev/hda


    thanks in advance...
    check the backtrack wiki for the install guide. you probably have not created a file system or mountes the partition. the wiki has a great install guide.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    33

    Default

    well installation went awesome, now im trying to install XP, and I boot the laptop, press [esc] to bring up boot menu, and press CDROM, but it goes right to the lilo screen, and i tried it over and over and nothing happens.. what does this mean?

  4. #4
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hattrick View Post
    well installation went awesome, now im trying to install XP, and I boot the laptop, press [esc] to bring up boot menu, and press CDROM, but it goes right to the lilo screen, and i tried it over and over and nothing happens.. what does this mean?
    You probaby should have mentioned that you were trying to dual boot. windows must be installed first otherwise it will overrite lilo. the same wiki has a great video on how to dual boot xp and backtrack.there is also a transcript because there are a few differences so be sure to refer to both.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    33

    Default

    sorry.. ok deff tried it again, installed xp then did the video once more, FINALLY all working right.. now to patch my card.. lol windows is so much easier...

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Problem solved!

    Great job!
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    33

    Default

    yes, thanks for the help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •