Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: BT5R3 Desktop Error

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4

    Post BT5R3 Desktop Error

    Hello.
    I've used BT5 on VirtualBox, but decided to burn it do a disc instead and boot it as my main system, as I in virtualbox could'nt hack wireless 'cause I couldnt find any wi-fi. And now, here comes my problems:

    1. After I type startx, it gives me the black screen. I found a fix on that error, where the one who helped me, said that I should add this code in the "grub": "xforcevesa noapic noapci nosplash irqpoll --" without the quotes. So, I did that, and my BT5 started atleast. I don't know if this is a bad code? :-(

    2. Now, when I come to the desktop, I have to wait about 15 minutes before it shows the "Install Backtrack", and like 10 more minutes before the "Applications" etc appears. I can't see the icon of "Install Backtrack" it is just a sheet of paper. Also, it comes up with some errors about gnome or something, where I either can choose to delete something or don't delete. Also, when the application tab appears, when I then press it, it goes all laggy again, and it takes about 10 minutes again before it responds, then I can go alittle further before it lags again.

    I don't know if any of these problems is maybe a problem with the code I used at the grub? I don't think it is, but I'm new to this, so...

    I got a HP G62 Notebook laptop. 4 Gb RAM - Intel Pentium CPU 2.00 GHz - ATI Radeon HD 5(something)... - I got the BackTrack 5 R3 - gnome - 32 bit. PLEASE HELP ME! All help will be highly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9

    Default AW: BT5R3 Desktop Error

    if you are using a external graphic card remove it and try it with your onboard card. this should work. I highly recommend you to use backtrack on VirtualBox

    cheers

Similar Threads

  1. Starting terminal error- deleted inode refrenced lookup (BT5R3)
    By optimusprimeduck in forum BackTrack 5 General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2013, 09:39 PM
  2. Desktop effects could not be enable error
    By wewe73 in forum BackTrack 5 Fixes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-04-2012, 06:18 PM
  3. Desktop Environment freezes during loading desktop
    By E.Hyde in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-23-2011, 05:32 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-10-2010, 06:58 PM
  5. user folders no longer having the desktop mapped to the ~/Desktop/ folder
    By RageLtMan in forum OLD BackTrack 4 (pre) Final
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-02-2009, 01:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •