Results 1 to 1 of 1

Thread: Is it possible to network two BT5 machines together?

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default Is it possible to network two BT5 machines together?

    I have successfully networked Win XP to my BT5 system running these commands on BT5:
    echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
    iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o wlan0 -j MASQUERADE
    ifconfig eth0 192.168.25.1/24

    then setting a static IP on XP with a dns of 4.4.2.2
    (there is a router between the 2 computers)

    but i cant get a BT5 machine to use the internet like i could with the win XP. It will connect to the 192.168.25.1 gate way, and i can ping it or do whatever i want, just no internet connectivity.

    My question is: (if it is possible to network two BT5 machines) what am i missing? should i try setting up a proxy through the BT5 machine that has internet?
    Last edited by cheeseus; 01-19-2013 at 08:17 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Failing to exploit some machines
    By strakar in forum BackTrack 5 General Topics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-13-2011, 07:56 PM
  2. Virtual machines
    By rhoomega in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-30-2011, 11:11 AM
  3. Search for machines in network?
    By magliter in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-07-2010, 11:30 AM
  4. Problem with SET on machines outside of my LAN
    By tehryan in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-12-2010, 01:24 PM
  5. Add existing virtual machines
    By playtrack in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-09-2009, 05:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •