Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Metasploit update issues

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default Metasploit update issues

    Hey guys,

    So, I have installed backtrack 5 r3 on a Virtual box and often use it for playing about with wifi exploits on my home network. Both myself and my housemate have it on our home PC's and laptops too.

    I have an Atheros wifi usb card and the wifi guides all over the internet are all good. Airmon, Airodump, Aireply and Aircrack all work and I have no issues with backtrack5 in this respect.

    However, I am now expanding my knowledge to network connected exploits and cisco switches. However, I cannot get any of the metasploit or armatage functions of bt5 to work correctly.

    I am not sure if this is a setting with the network on my actual VB setup, as the wireless manager option no longer appears within backtrack since setting to a bridged connection :/


    To add any extra advice see below:

    I have found guides on changes between r2 and r3 and have tried a fresh install of metasploit using the commands 'apt-get update', which crashed (found the advice here: http://www.backtrack-linux.org/backt...acktrack-5-r3/, however it doesnt say about errors or if it crashes), followed by the command 'svn cleanup' and trying to get the update to run again.

    On a side note, I have tried following guides, one here (https://community.rapid7.com/communi...metasploit-pro) seemed to work, but I could not register metasploit, the site doesnt seem to want to load on my virtualbox.

    I also cannot get the DHCP3-Server settings to work, it simply hangs on the pop up window with the bar ticking up. I assume this is a Java / Flash update issue?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    I have tried to use the search functions here, but cannot find a suitable answer. If I am just being an idiot, please just feel free to point and laugh and point me to a newbies guide to setting stuff like this up :P

    Thanks in advance,
    Dan

  2. #2
    Moderator g0tmi1k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,771

    Default Re: Metasploit update issues

    Have you seen this? https://gist.github.com/4393324

    Hope it does the trick for you =)
    Have you...g0tmi1k?

  3. #3
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Metasploit update issues

    Quote Originally Posted by g0tmi1k View Post
    Have you seen this? https://gist.github.com/4393324

    Hope it does the trick for you =)
    It seemed so hopeful, but then I got this error message:

    bt5 screenshot.JPG

    I still cant seem to connect to the internet via a wired connection - that might be an issue, its set to bridged at the moment, this should be the right setting, right?

    Dan

  4. #4
    Good friend of the forums zimmaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    407

    Default Re: Metasploit update issues

    Quote Originally Posted by mrdanedwards View Post
    It seemed so hopeful, but then I got this error message:

    bt5 screenshot.JPG

    I still cant seem to connect to the internet via a wired connection - that might be an issue, its set to bridged at the moment, this should be the right setting, right?

    Dan
    hi
    are you sure you have an internet connection? test before navigating with firefox (bt5)

  5. #5
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Metasploit update issues

    Fresh install of BT5R3, going to give that guide a go and will update accordingly.

    Thanks in advance guys

    Dan

    Oh, and yeah, I did have internet, both on my windows box and withing the BT VM :/

  6. #6
    Good friend of the forums zimmaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    407

    Default Re: Metasploit update issues

    Quote Originally Posted by mrdanedwards View Post
    Fresh install of BT5R3, going to give that guide a go and will update accordingly.

    Thanks in advance guys

    Dan

    Oh, and yeah, I did have internet, both on my windows box and withing the BT VM :/
    hi
    i'm happy for you but the error in your attached photo : curl: (6) Couldn't resolve host 'curl.haxx.se'
    ""SEEMS"" to be due """NO-CONNECTION-OUTSIDE-LAN"""
    bye

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-07-2011, 01:35 PM
  2. apt-get update issues
    By CoSBigWilly in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 05:27 AM
  3. Metasploit issues!
    By imported_Joes100 in forum OLD Pentesting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-21-2009, 11:33 PM
  4. Weird update issues on metasploit
    By fastboi in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-17-2008, 10:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •