Thread: OSCP Prerequisites

Hybrid View

Just burned their ISO

Default OSCP Prerequisites

Hi All,

1 - Before going to start OSCP, i want to know what are the prerequisites for doing it. what certifications or language will add advantage in prepration of OSCP. i am CCNP Security,working as a Network Security Engineer, have a sound knowledge in Firewall (ASA/PIX/Juniper). i am also a RHCE during my previous jobs configured nagios,asterisk,cacti. i have no knowledge in any scripting languages. i dont know any thing about pearl,phython,shell,bash.

2 - i want to know from all of experts should i do OSCP ? whats the level of scripting is involved in OSCP ? can an unexperienced person in scripting should do OSCP ?

3 - If i do OSCP will my network security skills will add advantage to it ?

4 - What is the scope of a person who is good in security and if he is a OSCP to ?

Experts thanks in advance for any suggestions and advice which will be provided from all of u.

Good friend of the forums scottm99's Avatar

Default Re: OSCP Prerequisites

I took the Pentesting with BackTrack course about a year ago. Didn't pass the OSCP exam but I learned a LOT! If you have no programming experience, I suggest learning a bit about perl, python, or bash scripting. Doesn't have to be one those things...any coding experience will help. You sound well prepared, otherwise

I found the class very challenging, but also very rewarding.
    If I could figure out how to scuba dive & hack at the same time, there would be nothing I couldn't do...

Quote Originally Posted by technosecurity View Post
    Hi All,