Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: No Audio - BT5 R2

  1. #11
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: No Audio - BT5 R2

    Quote Originally Posted by b4ckupn0w View Post
    Ok. I searched my entire HD for a run folder. It doesn't exist. How can I install and switch to "pulseaudio" instead of the default installation?
    Would you post the settings of your alsamixer? please...If pics, much better.

    After see them, then we switch to pulseaudio.

  2. #12
    Just burned their ISO b4ckupn0w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: No Audio - BT5 R2

    Now I really need help. I accidentally erased 80% of my var directory. I can't even load my desktop now using startx. Luckily most of my other files are still accessible and it appears that there's network connectivity. How can I re-store the var to what it was before I deleted it? Is there a system restore feature like in Windows or what?

  3. #13
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: No Audio - BT5 R2

    Quote Originally Posted by b4ckupn0w View Post
    Now I really need help. I accidentally erased 80% of my var directory. I can't even load my desktop now using startx. Luckily most of my other files are still accessible and it appears that there's network connectivity. How can I re-store the var to what it was before I deleted it? Is there a system restore feature like in Windows or what?
    That is a very sensible folder, you might want to reinstall OS...There are few ways to try to recover file, but if you want to try using "testdisk" utility, see if in repos..Then undelete files from the partition.

    Luck.

  4. #14
    Just burned their ISO b4ckupn0w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    19

    Default

    okay I'll try it. can I re-install just the desktop?

    I can't install testdisk or foremost..."Could not open lock file /var/lib/dpkg/lock" (no such file or directory). "Unable to lock the administration directory"(/var/lib/dpkg/). Can I somehow install this from a USB drive?
    Last edited by g0tmi1k; 01-13-2013 at 07:17 AM. Reason: Merged

  5. #15
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: No Audio - BT5 R2

    Quote Originally Posted by b4ckupn0w View Post
    okay I'll try it. can I re-install just the desktop?

    I can't install testdisk or foremost..."Could not open lock file /var/lib/dpkg/lock" (no such file or directory). "Unable to lock the administration directory"(/var/lib/dpkg/). Can I somehow install this from a USB drive?
    Create the directory as looked for: mkdir /var/lib/dpkg/lock

    If another directory is not found under /var, do the same thing and create it. There should be abut 2 or 3 more folders if using aptitude command, maybe more, just see what the System is looking for and create them.

  6. #16
    Just burned their ISO b4ckupn0w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: No Audio - BT5 R2

    I managed to backup my files using Samba into an old XP box. Now the hard part is playing recovery. I got testdisk and exundelete from source forge. The tar files do not contain the executable. I have to now somehow compile the source and attempt to recover the var directory. How can I compile the apps if gcc is not on the system. Is there an easier way? I doubt just creating the directories(mkdir /var/lib/dpkg/lock) will trick the system into downloading files using apt-get, but I'll try it later. This is a total nightmare!

  7. #17
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: No Audio - BT5 R2

    try installing testdisk from the respos..I do not know if is in repos but search for it: aptitude search testdisk.

    But first create as much directories as requested by aptitude as I posted before.

  8. #18
    Just burned their ISO b4ckupn0w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: No Audio - BT5 R2

    Forget it! I formatted the entire BT 5R2 installation. It's not worth fixing. I got BT 5 R3 up and running. So, I'll try the audio tweaks on the new system. Her little mishap taught us a very important linux lesson, RTFM and Back UP daily! I'll try experimenting with testdisk and extundelete on a VM l8tr, just to see how well it works. Thanks for the tips and info.

  9. #19
    Just burned their ISO b4ckupn0w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    19

    Cool Re: No Audio - BT5 R2

    Ok now it works. Flost was right. That one line loads the right modules! Thanks.

  10. #20
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: No Audio - BT5 R2

    Same here man. But the problem is that I am on Backtrack 5 R3. I've also used pulseaudio as one of my startup applications, but still, there is not sound.
    When I try to find my sound card, I see this:
    Code :lspci
    Output:00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family DRAM Controller (rev 09)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200/2nd Generation Core Processor Family PCI Express Root Port (rev 09)
    00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
    00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 (rev 05)
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev b5)
    00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 5 (rev b5)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 (rev 05)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation H61 Express Chipset Family LPC Controller (rev 05)
    00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family 4 port SATA IDE Controller (rev 05)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 05)
    00:1f.5 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family 2 port SATA IDE Controller (rev 05)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 1040 (rev a1)
    01:00.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation HDMI Audio stub (rev a1)
    03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)
    I would really appreci

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. No audio, need help
    By ObsidianLord in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-31-2011, 08:38 PM
  2. No audio:x:29:
    By kermit911 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-23-2010, 08:39 PM
  3. Raw HEX data to audio ?
    By MasterCodeMonkey in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-13-2009, 01:11 AM
  4. USB and audio problems
    By BlackR in forum OLD BackTrack 4 NON working hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-11-2009, 12:24 PM
  5. Problema audio
    By BlackR in forum Angolo dei Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-10-2009, 01:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •