Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: acces to laptos harddrives

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    235

    Default acces to laptos harddrives

    Hi,

    Im using BT4 in external USB harddrive. And my question is how can I have acces to Laptops harddrives, I have 2 harddrives in my laptop.

    And does the same work for USB sticks etc.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO Soultaker666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: acces to laptos harddrives

    You will have to mount the drives in order to access them.
    If I win, you will be my slave

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: acces to laptos harddrives

    first find your hd with

    fdisk -l

    from the terminal and then mount what you want according with the correct filesystem of the hd...

    ex.

    you want to mount Windows NTFS partition and with fdisk -l you find that windows is on /dev/sda1 so


    mkdir /media/windows

    mount -t ntfs /dev/sda1 /media/windows


    otherwise if you want to know more about mounting and partition search "mount partition linux" with google!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: acces to laptos harddrives

    It works, thanks, But with fdisk -l I can only see partitions on that USB device where I have installed BT4

    Sorry I found those disks now

    Thanks for help.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO darkdragn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: acces to laptos harddrives

    I'm a big fan of controlling everything through command line, but just for ease of use for some others, and since some of the absent minded occasionally forget to umount, it can be handled through konqueror. Just type media:/ in the address bar. Kind of useless knowledge, if you're a command line junkie, lol, but i just wanted to mention it, for those who enjoy using a GUI.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: acces to laptos harddrives

    Thanks - that it a lot easyer using QUI, Is it that bad if i forget to umount?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: acces to laptos harddrives

    Quote Originally Posted by halfdone View Post
    Thanks - that it a lot easyer using QUI, Is it that bad if i forget to umount?
    It can be.
    See here for more info and substitute fdd for hdd the same can apply.
    Mounting and unmounting drives

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO darkdragn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: acces to laptos harddrives

    Quote Originally Posted by halfdone View Post
    Thanks - that it a lot easyer using QUI, Is it that bad if i forget to umount?

    Hey, i'm sorry about the late reply, i'm in Haiti, on the USS Bataan, and we don't have reliable net... always. For the bad to not un-mount thing... Well, with an ext3 partition i've never experenced any draw backs with the exception of mtab not being clean, so it might deny the next mount. If you run mount by itself, and no switches to find out where the OS thinks the device you're looking at is mounted, then attempt to umount it, it'll get the point, lol. (or just vim mtab, and dd the lines with the reference to your device) But i've never had any data loss.
    Not true, through, about ntfs partitions. Forgetting to umount then can be a pain in the ***, resulting in hours of chkdsk, before the partition is writable again.

    Have a good day, and i hope this helped some.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •