Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: wlan1 being renamed to wlan2 & disrupting dhcp3-server, I think

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default wlan1 being renamed to wlan2 & disrupting dhcp3-server, I think

    Hello.

    Backtrack 5 R3

    I am having difficulty getting a dhcp3-server to allocate out addresses when I go beyond wlan1, using hostapd. I need dhcp3-server to allocate addresses via the atheros sub wifi adapter.

    In fact, my logs in syslog are showing:

    No subnet declaration for wlan 1 (0.0.0.0) bla bla bla

    when I don't even have a card in the slot for wlan1, but do have an atheros usb wifi adapter attached in the usb port and that is coming up as wlan2 under ifconfig.

    However, when I have ONLY a wifi card slipped into the slot it shows up as wlan1 under ifconfig, dhcp3-server allocates successfully ip addresses to clients connecting to wlan1.

    I'm wondering if this can be a problem with drivers?

    Additionally I'm seeing in the syslog:

    udev: renamed network interface wlan1 to wlan2

    which doesn't help things.

    contents of /etc/network/interfaces:

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    auto eth0
    iface etho inet dhcp

    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp

    auto wlan1
    iface wlan1 inet dhcp

    auto wlan2
    iface wlan2 inet dhcp

    contents of /etc/dhcp3/dhcpd.conf:

    ddns-update-style none;
    ignore client-updates;
    authoritative;
    option local-wpad code 252 = text;

    subnet 10.0.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
    option routers 10.0.0.1;
    option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
    option broadcast-address 10.0.0.255;
    option domain-name-servers 10.0.0.1, 8.8.8.8, 8.8.4.4;
    option time-offset 0;
    range 10.0.0.3 10.0.0.13;
    default-lease-time 1209600;
    max-lease-time 1814400;
    }

    Any help much appreciated.

  2. #2
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    where I'm needed
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: wlan1 being renamed to wlan2 & disrupting dhcp3-server, I think

    Hi,
    Try checking your /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules file, maybe also /etc/default/dhcp3-server(to see which interface is configured to be used by dhcp server).

    Udev system changes the network interfaces name under certain conditions, for example when MAC address changes.
    Did you change MAC address of any of your net interfaces? If yes, you can add the new MAC address in /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules together with the name you want for it.

    Another interesting link: http://wiki.debian.org/hostap#firmware-nicrename
    This could apply to you, you wrote you're using hostapd...

    I even read that some BIOSes change the MAC address of on-board network card on every reboot, which causes udev to change interface name: http://www.mombu.com/gnu_linux/gento...p-3271467.html

    Now, to identify your problem, please post more details (eg are the syslog messages about interface renaming connected with some action you do?).

    I

  3. #3
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: wlan1 being renamed to wlan2 & disrupting dhcp3-server, I think

    Wow! That's great and good, useful information. I will try it out. Thanks a lot! Perfect!

Similar Threads

  1. dhcp3-server fails to start
    By parrotface in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-05-2012, 02:50 AM
  2. BT5 R2 KDE 32bit + DHCP3 server issue
    By Sil3nc3r in forum BackTrack 5 Fixes
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-24-2012, 01:55 AM
  3. Ignoring unknown interface wlan1=wlan1? heLP?!
    By j0eh4x in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-14-2010, 12:16 AM
  4. bt4 prefinal dhcp3-server
    By imported_patter in forum Software support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-21-2009, 06:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •