Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Backtrack 5 R3 x64 GNOME Resolution problem.

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default Backtrack 5 R3 x64 GNOME Resolution problem.

    Hi everyone,

    I recently installed BT5 on my laptop, ASUS U30JC, and i'm stuck with the 1024x768 resolution. I normally have 1366x768. My graphic card is a GeForce 310M

    I tried to change it in the Monitor Options, but I only have 1024x768.

    I also tried in /usr/share/xresprobe/xorg.conf but didn't work.

    If you need any other information ask me, and if you have any clue don't hesitate to tell me !

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: Backtrack 5 R3 x64 GNOME Resolution problem.

    Let's see ... did you install the drivers for your card ?
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  3. #3
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Backtrack 5 R3 x64 GNOME Resolution problem.

    First, thanks for your answer.


    I just tried to, following this :
    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...ad.php?t=40497

    Now, just after startx, I got

    Fatal error : screen not found

    If you have any idea...

  4. #4
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Backtrack 5 R3 x64 GNOME Resolution problem.

    The driver will give you the resolution, so what driver did you install?

    If propietary driver, you must have downloded this one: http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux-d...19-driver.html

    Luck
    Last edited by maverik35; 12-23-2012 at 08:38 PM.

  5. #5
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Backtrack 5 R3 x64 GNOME Resolution problem.

    Thanks for your answers, i'll try it.

  6. #6
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Backtrack 5 R3 x64 GNOME Resolution problem.

    If still "Fatal error : screen not found", you might want to place the pci id of your vga card into xorg.conf.

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to change resolution - BT5 x64 GNOME
    By lbarman in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-10-2012, 05:45 AM
  2. Backtrack 5 R2 Gnome 64bit - sound interface problem
    By Osirium in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-28-2012, 12:52 AM
  3. Problem with Nvidia graphic card on BackTrack 5 GNOME 64-bit
    By linlin in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-28-2012, 07:55 PM
  4. Resolution - BT5 Gnome
    By sgtsteamy in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-06-2011, 09:42 AM
  5. Problem: Backtrack 4 Beta - Screen Resolution
    By Warzone in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-22-2009, 08:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •