Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 14 of 14

Thread: backtrack5 boot problem

  1. #11
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: backtrack5 boot problem

    Quote Originally Posted by AminhoVic View Post
    I checked the md5sum of the BackTrack "BT5R3-GNOME-32.ISO" in Windows with HashCalc, the rezult MD5: a25d2506b100145b5730307b3e74b286

    I'll download it again and get back to you.

    Thank You Guys !!
    Did you downloaded the VMWare version?...Use that one and try to burn out the DVD at a very slow speed. have you tried the LiveDVD instead?..See if there is something wrong with DVD device...

  2. #12
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: backtrack5 boot problem

    Hello,

    I have imported the BT5R3-GNOME-VM-32 on VMware Player but I got this error



    Also I have tried to import it on VirtualBox but it only support OVF/OVA file format

    Quote Originally Posted by maverik35 View Post
    Did you downloaded the VMWare version?...Use that one and try to burn out the DVD at a very slow speed. have you tried the LiveDVD instead?..See if there is something wrong with DVD device...
    Yes I have downloaded the BT5R3-GNOME-32.ISO file but Its MD5 doesn't match with MD5 on the BackTrack download page, maybe the file is corrupt, So I should redownload it again.

    "Do not use a download manager with our links as your download will most probably get corrupted." What does that mean ? I have Used IDM to download the BT5R3-GNOME-32.ISO

    Thanks!

  3. #13
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: backtrack5 boot problem

    Quote Originally Posted by AminhoVic View Post
    Hello,

    I have imported the BT5R3-GNOME-VM-32 on VMware Player but I got this error



    Also I have tried to import it on VirtualBox but it only support OVF/OVA file format



    Yes I have downloaded the BT5R3-GNOME-32.ISO file but Its MD5 doesn't match with MD5 on the BackTrack download page, maybe the file is corrupt, So I should redownload it again.

    "Do not use a download manager with our links as your download will most probably get corrupted." What does that mean ? I have Used IDM to download the BT5R3-GNOME-32.ISO

    Thanks!
    The error says it all, you were using BT5 in a VM with different features (more features) than the one you are using in the PC where you want to install BT5, maybe need to install guest additions and extension pack ( I really have never and will never use VMWare, I use Oracle's VM instead)if they have not yet...

    As to the download, do not get me wrong but you need to forget, put aside the Windows world...Do not use fancy things to download, It doesn't matter how good they are or if they turned out to be "cream of the crop"...Just go to the BT5 download page, download the version you want to use and download it, then check the MD5...It will perhaps take little more time, but do not rush things up.

    Do things the simple way...

    And concerning the MD5 not checking with BT5 md5, you got a corrupted file..Need to download it again.

    Luck my friend and happy New year.
    Last edited by maverik35; 12-29-2012 at 11:33 AM.

  4. #14
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: backtrack5 boot problem

    Quote Originally Posted by maverik35 View Post
    The error says it all, you were using BT5 in a VM with different features (more features) than the one you are using in the PC where you want to install BT5, maybe need to install guest additions and extension pack ( I really have never and will never use VMWare, I use Oracle's VM instead)if they have not yet...

    As to the download, do not get me wrong but you need to forget, put aside the Windows world...Do not use fancy things to download, It doesn't matter how good they are or if they turned out to be "cream of the crop"...Just go to the BT5 download page, download the version you want to use and download it, then check the MD5...It will perhaps take little more time, but do not rush things up.

    Do things the simple way...

    And concerning the MD5 not checking with BT5 md5, you got a corrupted file..Need to download it again.

    Luck my friend and happy New year.
    So the solution is I must redownload the backtrack ISO again...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to boot BackTrack5 on MacBook Pro
    By asd23 in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-17-2012, 08:22 AM
  2. Backtrack5 boot screen editing - need help
    By Starving4knowledge in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-10-2012, 09:32 AM
  3. Unable to boot with Backtrack5 live cd
    By Srihari in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-27-2011, 01:00 AM
  4. backtrack5 boot problem
    By carter in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-13-2011, 12:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •