Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: backtrack5 boot problem

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    7

    Exclamation backtrack5 boot problem

    Hello,

    I'm new here, I've just downloaded BackTrack 5 R3, Desktop: GNOME, Architecture: 32, Image: ISO, After that I have downloaded and installed VMware Player then I have created a new virtual machine and I have followed the steps after the boot of backtrack I choosed "Backtrack Text - defaut boot text mode" then a black screen show up contains "Casper +........................ready" after 5 secondes a screen show up with hundred errores.. please see this image:



    My PC hardware configuration:
    System:
    ---------------
    Operating System: Windows 7 Professionnel 32-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_rtm.090713-1255)
    Language: French (Regional Setting: French)
    System Manufacturer: FUJITSU SIEMENS
    System Model: D1837
    BIOS: Version 5.00 R1.11.1837
    Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 3.06GHz, ~3.1GHz
    Memory: 1024MB RAM
    Available OS Memory: 1014MB RAM
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
    User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
    System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)

    Display Devices:
    ---------------
    Card name: Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family
    Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
    Chip type: Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset
    Display Memory: 122.0 MB
    Current Mode: 1152 x 864 (32 bit) (60Hz)

    Sound Devices
    -------------
    Description: Haut-parleurs (SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio)


    Also I have tried that on VirtualBox software but the same problem





    I would appreciate it if you can help me with this problem

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: backtrack5 boot problem

    You use .ISO for vmware?...No, that is wrong...ISO images are for HDD installs and DVD live..

    If you use a VMWare (Windows7 Host and BT5 as guest), you have to download the VMWare distro not .ISO....

    By the way, remember Virtual Machines do not handle internal Wifi devices, just USB Wifi ones.

    Luck.

  3. #3
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: backtrack5 boot problem

    Thank you maverik35 for your reply,

    I should download BT5R3-GNOME-VM-32.7z ? I want to use VMware Player or VirtualBox how can I install it ? can you explain to me or just post a link where I can know how to install this file on VMware Player or VirtualBox.

    Thank you for your help!

  4. #4
    Just burned their ISO webninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: backtrack5 boot problem

    Quote Originally Posted by maverik35 View Post
    You use .ISO for vmware?...No, that is wrong...ISO images are for HDD installs and DVD live..
    If you use a VMWare (Windows7 Host and BT5 as guest), you have to download the VMWare distro not .ISO....
    @maverk35: the ISO images can be used to install BT5 on VMWare with no problems. I did the 32-bit and 64-bit installations from ISO images, both on Windows 7 hosts.

    @AminhoVic: did you verify that your downloaded ISO image has the correct MD5 signature?

  5. #5
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: backtrack5 boot problem

    Quote Originally Posted by webninja View Post
    @AminhoVic: did you verify that your downloaded ISO image has the correct MD5 signature?
    I checked the md5sum of the BackTrack "BT5R3-GNOME-32.ISO" in Windows with HashCalc, the rezult MD5: a25d2506b100145b5730307b3e74b286

    I'll download it again and get back to you.

    Thank You Guys !!

  6. #6
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: backtrack5 boot problem

    Quote Originally Posted by AminhoVic View Post
    I checked the md5sum of the BackTrack "BT5R3-GNOME-32.ISO" in Windows with HashCalc, the rezult MD5: a25d2506b100145b5730307b3e74b286

    I'll download it again and get back to you.

    Thank You Guys !!
    Did you downloaded the VMWare version?...Use that one and try to burn out the DVD at a very slow speed. have you tried the LiveDVD instead?..See if there is something wrong with DVD device...

  7. #7
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: backtrack5 boot problem

    Hello,

    I have imported the BT5R3-GNOME-VM-32 on VMware Player but I got this error



    Also I have tried to import it on VirtualBox but it only support OVF/OVA file format

    Quote Originally Posted by maverik35 View Post
    Did you downloaded the VMWare version?...Use that one and try to burn out the DVD at a very slow speed. have you tried the LiveDVD instead?..See if there is something wrong with DVD device...
    Yes I have downloaded the BT5R3-GNOME-32.ISO file but Its MD5 doesn't match with MD5 on the BackTrack download page, maybe the file is corrupt, So I should redownload it again.

    "Do not use a download manager with our links as your download will most probably get corrupted." What does that mean ? I have Used IDM to download the BT5R3-GNOME-32.ISO

    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: backtrack5 boot problem

    Quote Originally Posted by webninja View Post
    @maverk35: the ISO images can be used to install BT5 on VMWare with no problems. I did the 32-bit and 64-bit installations from ISO images, both on Windows 7 hosts.
    I would have to check that out, otherwise why BT5 would post a VMWare Download?...I have installed ISO in VM (Linux). I sure know BT5 states a VMWare download for VMWare machines...Again, I will try to verify that point since I do not use and will never try to use any software out of linux..
    If I use Windows is due to my job, out of that, I use linux 99% of the time (Debian)...So I will try to see how to get a vmplayer and try what you said...

    Luck.

  9. #9
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: backtrack5 boot problem

    yes, that is the file.

    If you are newbie, I suggest you to use VMware..Go to the VMWare home page, download and install according to webpage instructions...Once the VMWare is installed, then install the BT5 using the downloaded file from BT5.

    One thing you are confused on:
    1. VMWare image = Using VMware player.
    2. .ISO image = DVD live and Virtual Machine..

    Yes, there are Virtual Machine from Oracle (Linux) and VMWare (Virtual Machine oriented to Windows)...

    Luck.

  10. #10
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: backtrack5 boot problem

    Hi maverik35,

    VMware Workstation doesn't on my computer, I want only use VMware Player I have download and install it and when I click on Create a new virtual machine they ask only for .ISO files and not .7z file... what I can do ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to boot BackTrack5 on MacBook Pro
    By asd23 in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-17-2012, 08:22 AM
  2. Backtrack5 boot screen editing - need help
    By Starving4knowledge in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-10-2012, 09:32 AM
  3. Unable to boot with Backtrack5 live cd
    By Srihari in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-27-2011, 01:00 AM
  4. backtrack5 boot problem
    By carter in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-13-2011, 12:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •