Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 53

Thread: bt2 boots but kernel panic

  1. #21
    Member imported_rokrmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by goon123 View Post
    This is how i did the installation on an external hard drive:
    External HD is called sdb
    and the internal sda

    bt~# mount sdb was not mounted
    bt~# qtparted freed up 45GB and comitted the canges
    bt~#fdsik /dev/sdb

    command (m for help): P
    Device Boot Start end blocks id system
    /dev/sdb1 1 13583 109105416 0 W95 Fat32

    now I created the 3 partitions:

    command (m for help):n
    p
    2
    +1024M
    command (m for help):n
    p
    3
    +2048M
    command (m for help):n
    p
    Selected partition 4
    using default value 19457 the rest=free space

    command (m for help): p
    sdb1= W95 Fat32
    sdb2= linux
    sdb3= linux
    sdb4=linux

    command (m for help):t
    3
    82
    command (m for help) sdb3= linux swap

    command (m for help):w write to disk

    no reboot at this point because i wasnt ask to do

    bt~# mke2fs /dev/sdb2
    bt~# mkswap /dev/sdb3
    bt~#swapon /dev/sdb3
    bt~# mkreiserfs /dev/sdb4

    continue (y/n): y

    bt~#mkdir /mnt/backtrack
    bt~# mount/dev/sdb4 /mnt/backtrack/
    bt~# mkdir /mnt/backtrack/boot
    bt~# mount /dev/sdb2 /mnt/backtrack/boot

    bt~# cp --preserve -R /
    cp: missing destination file after `/'
    Try `cp --help´ for more information

    I just typed the parts to copy and it takes a while but it worked:

    bt~# cp --preserve -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,usr,etc,lib,opt,sbin,va r}

    after copying was finished i went on...

    bt~# mkdir /mnt/backtrack/{mnt,proc,sys,tmp}
    bt~# mount --bind /dev/ /mnt/backtrack/dev/
    bt~#cp /boot/vmlinuz /mnt/backtrack/boot
    bt~# chroot /mnt/backtrack/ /bin/bash

    AND HERE COMES LILO

    bt~# nano /etc/lilo.conf

    lba 32 # Alow booting past 1024th cylinder with recent bios
    boot= /dev/sda
    #message=/boot/boot_message.txt
    promt
    timeout = 1200
    change-rules
    reset vga=791

    #windows bootable partition config begins
    other=dev/sda2 this is where i guess vista is installed on my laptop because sda1 should be the recovery partition of windows vista
    label= Windows
    table=/dev/sda
    #windows bootable partition config ends

    #linux bootable partition config begins
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    root=/dev/sdb4 should be right, look above
    label=linux
    read-only
    #linux bootable partition config ends

    than i pressed ctrl o and crtl x to save and exit lilo

    bt~# lilo -v

    and this comes out:

    Reading bootsector from /dev/sda
    Usinf MENU secondary loader
    calling map-insert-data
    Warning: The bootsector and mapfile are on different disk

    Boot other: /dev/sda2 on /dev/sda Loader CHAIN
    Added Windows: *

    Boot image: /boot/vmlinuz
    Added Linux

    writing boot sector
    Backup copy of boot sector in /boot/boot.0800

    and now i rebooted, and the miserable begins. hopefully someone could help me out getting this working but otherwise i need to know i to get everything back normal again. thanks everybody helping me
    Ok now this I do for mine.You can try to do this by edit lilo.conf:

    lba32 # Allow booting past 1024th cylinder with a recent BIOS
    boot = /dev/hda
    # message = /boot/boot_message.txt
    prompt
    timeout = 1200
    change-rules
    reset
    wga=791

    # Linux bootable partition config begins
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = /dev/hda3 - change to sda4
    label = Linux
    read-only
    # Linux bootable partition config ends

    other=/dev/hda1 -change to sda1
    label=windows
    table=/dev/hda

  2. #22
    Member imported_rokrmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Your vista is not in partition sda2 but in sda1 i think.Sda1 should be C: right?

  3. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    99

    Default

    yes its C:/

  4. #24
    Member imported_rokrmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    155

    Default

    So change this in lilo.conf:

    other=/dev/sda2 -change to sda1

  5. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    99

    Default

    I tought this is the recoverypartition

    at the moment Im recovering windows because i wasn´t able to do anything i will give it a try later on.

    im very scared because i didn't know if windows will work afer all this shit

  6. #26
    Member imported_rokrmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by goon123 View Post
    I tought this is the recoverypartition

    at the moment Im recovering windows because i wasn´t able to do anything i will give it a try later on.

    im very scared because i didn't know if windows will work afer all this shit
    You can reformat and reinstall the 2 os and you will find out the solution.

  7. #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    99

    Default

    during the backtrack installation nothing really went wrong and so i guess i only have to edit lilo.conf????

  8. #28
    Member imported_rokrmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by goon123 View Post
    during the backtrack installation nothing really went wrong and so i guess i only have to edit lilo.conf????
    Yes.......

  9. #29
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    99

    Default

    no success so far

  10. #30
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default

    Goon missed this !! You are using Vista.

    It is not possible to dual boot linux and vista. This is because vista checks the mbr prior to boot and rewrites it, there are workarounds:

    http://apcmag.com/5022/dualbooting_vista_and_linux

    However you are now making things very difficult for yourself, it is easier to follow one of the tutorials above and install Ubuntu, if you want aircrack-ng
    use Ubuntu's synaptic to install to or simply
    apt-get install aircrack-ng

    XP is slightly different doesnt check or rewrite the mbr this is why youre having trouble. On your first post, dont say windows, say vista, its not the sharpest tool in the box.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •