Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How can I Disable Automatic Connection?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO trustme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    23

    Default How can I Disable Automatic Connection?

    Hello All,

    This is a great forum and thanks to all who help out.
    I've recently finished my HDD install of BT2 and I really like it. However, one small annoyance has popped up.

    When I boot the machine it will automatically connect to the first open WIFI connection it can find. Even with the lan cable connected. It then dumps the DNS server address from this WIFI connection into my resolve.conf file. This causes all kinds of hassle. I do not want to use my neighbour's DNS server or network. When I put eth0(ipw2100) down I then need to open resolve.conf and enter my proper DNS setting that should have been entered by DHCP "automagically".

    How can I keep my wireless nic from automatically grabbing any network that is available? Also how can I make my laptop use the wired connection as the preferred connection?

    Thanks in advance for any help.

  2. #2
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Use the nodhcp bootcode and then you can select the interface an when it connects manually.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO trustme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Thanks BP. I've read a bit about that option on this forum but I am not certain what specifically I can do with it. How do I go about using it? Sorry if this is an obvious question.

    Do you mean I chould change something in the /etc/inet script? or change the interfaces file?

  4. #4
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    nop

    instead of hiting enter key at boot time
    when you see boot :
    you have some time to type : bt nodhcp and then hit enter

    it's called a bootcode or cheatcode there's a list of availables cheatcodes in our wiki...
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO trustme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shamanvirtuel View Post
    nop

    instead of hiting enter key at boot time
    when you see boot :
    you have some time to type : bt nodhcp and then hit enter

    it's called a bootcode or cheatcode there's a list of availables cheatcodes in our wiki...
    Thanks
    I looked at backtrack.offensive-security.com/index.php?title=Cheats#bt_nodhcp

    But that would also disable DHCP for my lan line? I do not really want to disable DHCP.

    I don't mind it using DHCP. In fact I would almost be required.

    Really I only want to be able to choose the WLAN that I am going to connect to after login. Or simply have it favor the LAN over the WLAN.

  6. #6
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    it disable it only on start time

    you will be able to use it after .....

    and yes your lan line wont keep an ip...
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO trustme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Thanks, I'll give it a shot tonight.

  8. #8
    Member imported_blackfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    386

    Default sense change

    I sense a change of question.

    If you want to keep dhcp enabled for your lan but select a different wlan AP this is a different case.

    Use these commands:

    ifconfig wlan_interface down
    iwconfig wlan_interface essid name key key_value

    if it is static (not normal) use:
    ifconfig wlan_interface static_ip_address up

    if it is dynamic use:
    ifconfig wlan_interface up
    dhcpcd wlan_interface
    Lux sit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •