Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: BT2 Dualboot Install

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default BT2 Dualboot Install

    I used this tutorial to install Backtrack 2 on my HDD with Windows XP Pro (SP2):
    hxxp://xxx.offensive-security.com/movies/dualboot/dualboot.html

    I use a Windows XP Professional System with 2 Partitions C: & D: (and SP2)

    when I will start qtpartet came this:

    bt ~ # mount
    tmpfs on / type tmpfs (rw)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,devgid=10,devmode=0666)
    bt ~ # qtparted
    Warning: Unable to open /dev/hdb read-write (Read-only file system). /dev/hdb has been opened read-only.
    No Implementation: Support for opening ntfs file systems is not implemented yet.
    Error: Could not detect file system.
    No Implementation: Support for opening ntfs file systems is not implemented yet.
    Segmentation fault
    bt ~ #

    what make I wrong?

    Please help me

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    202

    Default

    What file systems are the two partitions installed with?

    I'm guessing that both are NTFS?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Yes both are NTFS.

  4. #4
    Member imported_blackfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    386

    Default ntfs

    Writing to an NTFS is unreliable (except by Microsoft). For your own protection the NTFS partition is automatically set to 'read-only'.

    Even under OpenBSD it is not recommended!
    Lux sit

  5. #5
    Member imported_rokrmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    155

    Default

    You should change drive D to fat32.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I created a 3rd Partition with Fat32 but the failed are the same.

    I must created a Primary or Logicaly Partition? I created an Primary.

    Must the Partition are "aktive"? I created a not aktive Partition because when aktive Windows not boot.

    and what is when i deinstall Windows, make 3 Partitions, Install Backtrack2 and then I install Windows?

    work this?

  7. #7
    Member imported_rokrmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    155

    Default

    You should be delete 2nd and 3rd partition then then start form the beginning.
    Follow this method:

    bt ~ # mount
    bt ~ # umount /mnt/hda1
    bt ~ # qtparted

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default

    But I Need a 2nd Partition...

    Can I create later a 2nd Partition?

  9. #9
    Member imported_rokrmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    155

    Default

    You can create the 2nd partition later after follow the method that i mention to you.

  10. #10
    Member imported_blackfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    386

    Default linux

    This is basic Linux.

    Might I suggest that you use an alternative.

    I suggest that you try firstly with ubuntu or knoppix...even Mandrake.

    When you are confident of your ability in Linux do come back.

    Whilst it is true that this forum supports the BT distribution I really believe this needs some prior exposure to a more usable system.

    BT is not for novices.
    Lux sit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •