Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: <length: 12>

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default <length: 12>

    One of my test routers (DLink DI-624, with no clients) has recently stopped showing up in airodump and kismet. Instead of the random ESSID that used to show, it only shows "<length: 12>." The strange thing is that I have run several WEP breaks on this particular device without any issues. Even with SSID Broadcast disabled, airodump & kismet were both usually able to discover (or decloak) in a matter of seconds. I have let airodump run for hours with no results. The PWR is well above 30-35 range.

    I am curious how I can get around this, but even more importantly... I am wondering what setting in the router could really keep this device "invisible" from BT. Additionally, BT is the only one that seems to have any problems. I have an iPaq with WiFiFoFum plus all of my Windows machines see this device without any problem.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Forgot to mention that I am using a ORiNOCO card (8470-FC) with updated madwifi drivers, updated kismet, and updated aircrack -- using the tut from TheGreatVirus: http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=569.

    Thanks!

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    I got a more up to date video for the -3 and a video on the -4 attack that may aide you. There is no setting in the router that I'm aware of that will "elude" airodump or Kismet from picking up the ESSID in question.

    Try running

    aireplay-ng -0 10 -a APMAC ath0

    to reveal the ESSID.

    Also in your routers settings depending on the name brand and model...the Broadcast ssid is the only "cloaking" feature I'm aware of.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  4. #4
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    newest aircrack doesn't need the -e switch to associate, so you can forgot essid discovery, it's useless
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shamanvirtuel View Post
    newest aircrack doesn't need the -e switch to associate, so you can forgot essid discovery, it's useless
    I keep forgetting about that! Damn I miss my BT2..Oh well, I got a HD being shipped to my as we speak. Thanks to a good friend of mine here on the forums. Then I can upgrade my system and aircrack and get caught up on everything that I've been missing out on!
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -=Xploitz=- View Post
    the Broadcast ssid is the only "cloaking" feature I'm aware of.
    Any idea as to why it is cloaked from BT2, but XP Zero Config and/or Windows Mobile can pick it up right away?

    To be completely fair, the XP machine has connected to this AP in the past (as a legitimate client). So, I'm not sure if something is cached somewhere. But the Windows Mobile device was just hard reset and reloaded about a week ago.

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Here is another wierd tidbit. Airodump has ben running for ~2 hours with no luck. I turned on the scan from the iPaq and immediately airodump picked up the ESSID. Apparently something in an exchange that the iPaq tried to make helped.

  8. #8
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -=Xploitz=- View Post
    I keep forgetting about that! Damn I miss my BT2..Oh well, I got a HD being shipped to my as we speak. Thanks to a good friend of mine here on the forums. Then I can upgrade my system and aircrack and get caught up on everything that I've been missing out on!
    What idiot would be sending you a Toshiba HD so as you can start playing with BT again.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by balding_parrot View Post
    What idiot would be sending you a Toshiba HD so as you can start playing with BT again.
    I'd expose the "idiot", but I figure if he wanted me to blab to the whole world who it was that gave me a HD for FREE..that person would have said its ok to... But this person didn't say if it was ok or not, and I'm no snitch...so, untill they say its ok, my lips are sealed. I respect people, and I figure if I did something like that for someone, I wouldn't want others to know that I did it because then other people might think I was rich..and I'd get flooded with "I'm so poor.....please buy me a new Hard Drive" PM's All the time..and I don't want that to happen to this person. So unless this person tells me its cool..its our little secrete.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  10. #10
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -=Xploitz=- View Post
    I'd expose the "idiot", but I figure if he wanted me to blab to the whole world who it was that gave me a HD for FREE..that person would have said its ok to... But this person didn't say if it was ok or not, and I'm no snitch...so, untill they say its ok, my lips are sealed. I respect people, and I figure if I did something like that for someone, I wouldn't want others to know that I did it because then other people might think I was rich..and I'd get flooded with "I'm so poor.....please buy me a new Hard Drive" PM's All the time..and I don't want that to happen to this person. So unless this person tells me its cool..its our little secrete.
    I would guess that if they asked that person such a question, I would tell them where they could stick their PM

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •