Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Can't find Sound card :(

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    7

    Unhappy Can't find Sound card :(

    Good evening everyone.
    Im pretty new in unix os and i really need your help right now. Im facing problems installing my sound card on backtrack
    I've seen a lot of forums so far but i cant find a solution.
    My soundcard is Realtek, though it seems to be recognised as ATI (my graphics card is ATI just for some more info)
    I used lspci in terminal to see what hardware i have installed on my computer. The result was this:

    Code:
    lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS880 Host Bridge
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780/RS880 PCI to PCI bridge (int gfx)
    00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 0)
    00:05.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 1)
    00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
    00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
    00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
    00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
    00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
    00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 41)
    00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 IDE Controller (rev 40)
    00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)
    00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 LPC host controller (rev 40)
    00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge (rev 40)
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor HyperTransport Configuration
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Address Map
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor DRAM Controller
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Miscellaneous Control
    00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Link Control
    01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc M880G [Mobility Radeon HD 4200]
    01:05.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc RS880 Audio Device [Radeon HD 4200]
    02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM57780 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe (rev 01)
    08:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM43225 802.11b/g/n (rev 01)
    Any help, appreciated!

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Can't find Sound card :(

    type : lspci --vvs 00:14.2
    Post output...

    Then: lsmod and post output

    Then dmesg and post output.

  3. #3
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Can't find Sound card :(

    Code:
    lspci -vvs 00:14.2
    00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)
    	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0489
    	Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
    	Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=slow >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
    	Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 64 bytes
    	Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 7
    	Region 0: Memory at d2300000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
    	Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
    		Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=55mA PME(D0+,D1-,D2-,D3hot+,D3cold+)
    		Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
    	Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel
    Code:
    Module                  Size  Used by
    radeon                813181  2 
    ttm                    68384  1 radeon
    drm_kms_helper         40041  1 radeon
    drm                   225891  5 radeon,ttm,drm_kms_helper
    i2c_algo_bit           13156  1 radeon
    dm_crypt               22668  0 
    arc4                   12529  2 
    brcmsmac              563429  0 
    mac80211              478885  1 brcmsmac
    brcmutil               14361  1 brcmsmac
    cfg80211              190023  2 brcmsmac,mac80211
    uvcvideo               67221  0 
    videodev               93508  1 uvcvideo
    soundcore              12598  0 
    edac_core              51499  0 
    psmouse                72820  0 
    serio_raw              13211  0 
    joydev                 17457  0 
    v4l2_compat_ioctl32    20896  1 videodev
    edac_mce_amd           22882  0 
    k10temp                13119  0 
    crc8                   12708  1 brcmsmac
    cordic                 12486  1 brcmsmac
    sp5100_tco             13697  0 
    i2c_piix4              13167  0 
    snd_page_alloc         18101  0 
    acer_wmi               27846  0 
    shpchp                 37130  0 
    sparse_keymap          13526  1 acer_wmi
    lp                     17789  0 
    parport                44368  1 lp
    dm_mirror              21906  0 
    dm_region_hash         19667  1 dm_mirror
    dm_log                 18215  2 dm_mirror,dm_region_hash
    aufs                  183689  0 
    hid_microsoft          12829  0 
    usbhid                 46275  0 
    usb_storage            55911  1 
    uas                    17756  0 
    hid                    97618  2 hid_microsoft,usbhid
    pata_atiixp            13168  0 
    video                  18858  0 
    wmi                    18697  1 acer_wmi
    tg3                   147905  0
    Last command was way too long to add here. Cant attach it in a file too
    So i uploaded it here http://dl.dropbox.com/u/82523294/dmesg_results.7z
    Thanks for spending time helping me out
    I hope you can find a solution!

  4. #4
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Can't find Sound card :(

    Ok..The audio card is being seen by (udev) kernel at slot ID 00:14.2 (ATI Tech Azalia Model with intel chipset). Driver used is the snd_hda_intel. But driver has not been loaded. It is not present in the "modinfo" output.

    Now, do this: type ----> modprobe snd_hda_intel

    Then type: lsmod | grep -i snd

    You should see the driver used by kernel already loaded along with its dependencies.

    Try it. Luck....

  5. #5
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Can't find Sound card :(

    I tried it but an error came up :S

    Code:
    root@bt:~# modprobe snd_hda_intel
    FATAL: Error inserting snd (/lib/modules/3.2.6/kernel/sound/acore/snd.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    WARNING: Error running install command for snd
    WARNING: Error inserting snd_pcm (/lib/modules/3.2.6/kernel/sound/acore/snd-pcm.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    WARNING: Error inserting snd_hwdep (/lib/modules/3.2.6/kernel/sound/acore/snd-hwdep.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    WARNING: Error inserting snd_hda_codec (/lib/modules/3.2.6/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-codec.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    FATAL: Error inserting snd_hda_intel (/lib/modules/3.2.6/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-intel.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    root@bt:~# lsmod | grep -i snd
    snd_page_alloc         18101  0 
    root@bt:~#
    Any idea?

  6. #6
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Can't find Sound card :(

    Sorry, try modprobe snd-hda-intel

    The driver is as stated by lspci -vvs 00:14.2

    Try that..

  7. #7
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Can't find Sound card :(

    Still getting an error message :S

    Code:
    root@bt:~# modprobe snd-hda-intel
    FATAL: Error inserting snd (/lib/modules/3.2.6/kernel/sound/acore/snd.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    WARNING: Error running install command for snd
    WARNING: Error inserting snd_pcm (/lib/modules/3.2.6/kernel/sound/acore/snd-pcm.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    WARNING: Error inserting snd_hwdep (/lib/modules/3.2.6/kernel/sound/acore/snd-hwdep.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    WARNING: Error inserting snd_hda_codec (/lib/modules/3.2.6/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-codec.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    FATAL: Error inserting snd_hda_intel (/lib/modules/3.2.6/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-intel.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)

  8. #8
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Can't find Sound card :(

    Please, post the output of : cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* | grep Codec

  9. #9
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Can't find Sound card :(

    Code:
    root@bt:~# cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* |grep Codec
    cat: /proc/asound/card0/codec*: No such file or directory
    Im starting to getting dissapointed On bt 4 i had problems with my wifi card now with the sound card :S Maybe i should change my bt to x32 version? Will there be any difference?

  10. #10
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Can't find Sound card :(

    Well, it seems that sound card is not supported...It is not a 32 or 64 bit version problem, it is about alsa.

    Ok, would you please try this:

    cat /proc/asound/cards
    cat /proc/asound/modules
    cat /proc/asound/version
    cat /proc/asound/card0/cat codec#2 | grep -i Codec
    cat /proc/asound/card0/id
    aplay -l

    execute---> alsamixer

    See the speakers and info.

    The last thing would be to use oss or pulse instead of alsa.

    Please post output...I want to see if card is supported..
    Last edited by maverik35; 12-07-2012 at 12:14 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. How to solve this sound card problems
    By LoaiBT in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-30-2011, 03:53 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-26-2009, 06:17 AM
  3. Can't boot with a Maestro3 sound card.
    By Niff441 in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-21-2009, 02:28 AM
  4. No Sound, creative card or mobo
    By Korupt in forum OLD BackTrack 4 NON working hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-08-2009, 08:38 AM
  5. configuring sound card in backtrack
    By rakshit in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-23-2008, 04:14 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •