Thread: Stack executability

Hybrid View

Just burned his ISO

Default Stack executability

Hi, I'm not really new to hacking/programming in general, but I am a newb when it comes to Linux. I'm messing around with buffer overflows on a BT install, but it isn't working. I don't think there is anything wrong with my exploit, so I was wondering if the stack is set to non-executable by default, either by gcc or the kernel, and if it is, how I would go about changing that (I'm hoping that's the problem, if not it means my exploit is ****ed)?

Also, much thanks to the creators of BT for making their platform so accessible.

Regards.

Developer

Quote Originally Posted by nullbashr View Post
    Hi, I'm not really new to hacking/programming in general, but I am a newb when it comes to Linux. I'm messing around with buffer overflows on a BT install, but it isn't working. I don't think there is anything wrong with my exploit, so I was wondering if the stack is set to non-executable by default, either by gcc or the kernel, and if it is, how I would go about changing that (I'm hoping that's the problem, if not it means my exploit is ****ed)?

Also, much thanks to the creators of BT for making their platform so accessible.

Regards.
    You'll have to be more clear. Are you attcking Backtrack from another machine or what? Are you attempting a buffer over flow on the kernal or a certain program? and lastly why? As we have said many times backtrack is a pentesting distro. it is not meant as a standalone OS therfore it would not normally be under attack.

Quote Originally Posted by purehate View Post
    You'll have to be more clear. Are you attcking Backtrack from another machine or what? Are you attempting a buffer over flow on the kernal or a certain program? and lastly why? As we have said many times backtrack is a pentesting distro. it is not meant as a standalone OS therfore it would not normally be under attack.