Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 54

Thread: AWUS036NH TX Power

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default AWUS036NH TX Power

    First - If you break your card??? I am not going to lose any sleep over it.

    I was able to get the TX Power of my awuso36nh card all the way up to 33 working with injection. Here is how I did it.
    One warning. I am doing this on Ubuntu but it shouldn't be too much different.

    I followed Joker5bb great tutorial (This was really helpful). except...
    http://hacking-library.com/forum/vie...284&p=550#p550

    I was having issues so instead of adding an entire country code (XX) to the db.txt file I just changed the US channels max TX to 33.

    It went from this
    Code:
    country US:
            (2402 - 2472 @ 40), (3, 27)
            (5170 - 5250 @ 40), (3, 17)
            (5250 - 5330 @ 40), (3, 20), DFS
            (5490 - 5600 @ 40), (3, 20), DFS
            (5650 - 5710 @ 40), (3, 20), DFS
            (5735 - 5835 @ 40), (3, 30)
    to this

    Code:
    country US:
            (2402 - 2472 @ 40), (3, 33)
            (5170 - 5250 @ 40), (3, 17)
            (5250 - 5330 @ 40), (3, 20), DFS
            (5490 - 5600 @ 40), (3, 20), DFS
            (5650 - 5710 @ 40), (3, 20), DFS
            (5735 - 5835 @ 40), (3, 30)
    I did not mess around with the other frequencies but you see how it works.

    make sure your compat-wireless drivers are up to date.

    You may want to get the more updated packages from the one in this tutorial

    Code:
    http://wireless.kernel.org/download/wireless-regdb/wireless-regdb-2011.04.28.tar.bz2
    http://wireless.kernel.org/download/crda/crda-1.1.2.tar.bz2
    Make sure you 'iw reg set US' if thats the section you changed.

    Do this at your own risk.

    Here is the output
    Code:
    # ifconfig wlan1 down
    # iw reg set US
    # iwconfig wlan1 txpower 32
    # ifconfig wlan1 up
    # airmon-ng start wlan1
    Interface       Chipset         Driver
    
    wlan1           Ralink RT2870/3070      rt2800usb - [phy2]
                                    (monitor mode enabled on mon0)
    
    # iwconfig
    wlan1     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:off/any  
              Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=32 dBm   
              Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:on
    
    mon0      IEEE 802.11bgn  Mode:Monitor  Tx-Power=32 dBm   
              Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Power Management:on
              
    # airmon-ng 
    
    Interface       Chipset         Driver
    
    wlan1           Ralink RT2870/3070      rt2800usb - [phy1]
    mon0            Ralink RT2870/3070      rt2800usb - [phy1]
    
    # aireplay-ng --test mon0
    00:00:23  Trying broadcast probe requests...
    00:00:23  Injection is working!
    00:00:24  Found 4 APs
    I have to say, with a good antenna and a powered USB hub, this is the best wireless card I have ever owned.
    Last edited by Scamentology; 01-07-2012 at 08:54 AM.
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    Good friend of the forums zimmaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    407

    Default Re: AWUS036NH TX Power

    thanks!
    from now on will use more often my second wifi-card!!!!

  3. #3
    Good friend of the forums zimmaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    407

    Default Re: AWUS036NH TX Power

    hi, scamentology
    ummm. I sang victory too soon !!!
    Assuming that you want to try on BT5-r1 (assuming responsibilities on my tests)
    what are the steps to do?
    reading the "links ".... I know little (it is normal for my brain )
    BT5-in-the drivers for my r1 awuso36NH alpha (present) are fine and should be changed?
    -the "iw package" default is good?
    in my BT5-r1 default seems to operate at 30dB:
    root @ bt: ~ # iw reg Sept. BO
    root @ bt: ~ # iwconfig wlan1 txpower 30
    root @ bt: ~ # airmon-ng start wlan1


    Found 1 processes Could That causes trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng-ng stops working or airtun after
    a short period of time, You May want to kill (some of) them!

    PID Name
    675 dhclient3


    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan1 Ralink RT2870/3070 rt2800usb - [phy3]
    (monitor mode enabled on mon0)

    root @ bt: ~ # iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan1 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID: off / any
    Mode: Managed Access Point: Not-Associated Tx-Power = 30 dBm
    Long retry limit: 7 RTS thr: off Fragment thr: off
    Encryption key: off
    Power Management: on

    mon0 IEEE 802.11bgn Mode: Monitor Frequency: 2.437 GHz Tx-Power = 30 dBm
    Long retry limit: 7 RTS thr: off Fragment thr: off
    Power Management: on
    I am curious to test whether "between how it works now and how the work you've done there is not much difference"
    from what little I understand (the default-BT5) 30dB In The Same: Worked alfa36H order to RESPECT Alpha 36NH.
    sorry if I have dwelt thanks in advance!
    zimmaro

  4. #4
    Senior Member LHYX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: AWUS036NH TX Power

    Vivek did a pretty awesome video on this in his "wireless lan security megaprimer".
    You should check that out too.
    http://www.securitytube.net/video/1781
    (\ /)
    ( . .)
    c(")(")

    This is bunny.
    Copy and paste bunny into your signature to help him gain world domination.

  5. #5
    Good friend of the forums zimmaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    407

    Default Re: AWUS036NH TX Power

    I will never cease to thank you !!!!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: AWUS036NH TX Power

    I saw that vid. everything that guy does is awesome.

    Quote Originally Posted by LHYX1 View Post
    Vivek did a pretty awesome video on this in his "wireless lan security megaprimer".
    You should check that out too.
    http://www.securitytube.net/video/1781
    @zimmaro Did you get it working? The only reason to change anything is to get the TX Power up to 2 watts (I HAVE NOT verified if it is actually putting out 2w).

    TX Power of 33 should give you 1.995w according to the converter @ http://www.moonblinkwifi.com/dbm_to_watt_conversion.cfm

    There was someone around here that was going to use an oscilloscope on it. I am curious to know the outcome.
    Last edited by Scamentology; 01-08-2012 at 01:44 AM.
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

  7. #7
    Good friend of the forums zimmaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    407

    Default Re: AWUS036NH TX Power

    hi, scamentology
    I could not! (it is normal for my life ....) eheheh!
    I tried to replace the file "db.txt" in usr / src / linux (or linux-source-2.6.39.4) / net / wireless / db.txt
    but do not work!
    1) I'm "testing" bt5r1 (vbox)
    2) I'm using "default-drivers" (Worked-fine in "" "sniff" ") & (crash" "normaly-use" ") max power 30db
    3) I'd like to know the steps to be done starting from "zero-point" [which is equal to my highest point to my brain-receptive !!!]
    thanks for your interesting!
    bye

  8. #8
    Good friend of the forums zimmaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    407

    Default Re: AWUS036NH TX Power

    hi,
    I've made it !!!
    in my little test (vbox)
    the card is reborn!
    -at (32db) is very-good airodumping
    -work on the injection (aireplay-ng -- test mon0) but in the "session-work" I do not think!
    -sometimes my card goes down!
    now I wanted to ask:
    is required to use the compat-drivers?
    I have them installed and then I "installed and built" the two packages (the link)
    I hope I have done right! (at least to me seems to work)
    my little test have finished!!!thks

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: AWUS036NH TX Power

    I have my 036NH running at full 2mw. There is a tutorial around here somewhere that I followed.


    Code:
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:off/any  
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated   
              Tx-Power=35 dBm   
              Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
              
    mon0      IEEE 802.11bgn  Mode:Monitor  Frequency:2.427 GHz  Tx-Power=35 dBm   
              Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Power Management:on

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: AWUS036NH TX Power

    I do not know if you need the compat wireless drivers but... thats the process I went through, so thats how I wrote it up.
    I don't know what you mean "session-work"?

    It works in Backtrack 5r1. My test was done on a live dvd and if you reload the drivers you wont need to reboot.

    Another warning. If you turn this up in the states with a gain antenna above 6 you will be breaking the law. I wont be running my card at 2 watts because I don't need it. I just don't like restrictions when it comes to my hobbies and it has no effect on others, I am sure others feel the same.

    Have fun.

    Quote Originally Posted by zimmaro View Post
    hi,
    I've made it !!!
    in my little test (vbox)
    the card is reborn!
    -at (32db) is very-good airodumping
    -work on the injection (aireplay-ng -- test mon0) but in the "session-work" I do not think!
    -sometimes my card goes down!
    now I wanted to ask:
    is required to use the compat-drivers?
    I have them installed and then I "installed and built" the two packages (the link)
    I hope I have done right! (at least to me seems to work)
    my little test have finished!!!thks
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Alfa awus036nh weak tx power. Is their a way to adjust?
    By D.B. Cooper in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-05-2011, 09:38 AM
  2. Tx power awus036nh
    By nickfee in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-26-2011, 01:57 AM
  3. Awus036nh
    By nickfee in forum Supporto Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-16-2010, 04:47 PM
  4. AWUS036NH power alert
    By killadaninja in forum OLD Wireless
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-02-2010, 11:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •