Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Modding Netgear WPN511 for a SMA pigtail HELP

  1. #1
    Junior Member Disonesto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    60

    Default Modding Netgear WPN511 for a SMA pigtail HELP

    I want to put a SMA pigtail in my Netgear WPN511
    but I'm not sure which side i should solder it too if some could please help

    I have attached a pic of it

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    thats a dual printed PCB..same as my airlink101 AWLC4130

    search the tutorial section for my tutorial on it..or type in that card in the forums search..and you'll see EXACTLY where to solder it all to.

    You can thank me later.

    BTW:

    it really doesn't matter which side you use...you can use either.

    And dont forget to remove that capacitor!!
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  3. #3
    Junior Member Disonesto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    60

    Default

    should i just solder one connector to one side or one connector to both sides like this pic

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    One connector to one side. You can add another connector to the other side in the future and add a second antenna to it as well. Right now i have 2 antennas connected to my card at one time. One 10dbi omni..and on the other side...A 18dBi yagi (directional). Cant beat that. And i use them at the same time under certain situations. Buy 2 SMA bulkheads. One for each side and 2 pigtails as well..and buy an extra separate 1 ft. length of cable to splice each connector to solder the bulkheads onto your cards feeds and grounds.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  5. #5
    Junior Member Disonesto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    60

    Default

    Thank You

    I'm going to buy the one SMA connector and im going to try it on the test port side,

    Im going to try and see if FRYS sells sma pigtail connectors

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Thats where I bought all my gear from. I know they sell the SMA female bulkheads, and everything else listed that you'll need.

    Good luck! Follow my tutorial..and buy an exacto knife set to scrape that green off. Also use Brillo pad to make groves in the line feed..LIGHTLY THOUGH!!! So your solder will stick to it.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  7. #7
    Junior Member Disonesto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    60

    Default

    i just finished installing the pigtail into the card

    8 inch pigtail to Rp-sma bulk head

    to get the card to work with the external antenna i had to remove both capacitor from both sides so it wouldn't use the stuck antenna's

    the funny thing is even if i don't attach the external antenna i get 20-30% signal from my AP and when i attach a 2dbi external i get 30-55%

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Disonesto View Post
    i just finished installing the pigtail into the card

    8 inch pigtail to Rp-sma bulk head

    to get the card to work with the external antenna i had to remove both capacitor from both sides so it wouldn't use the stuck antenna's

    the funny thing is even if i don't attach the external antenna i get 20-30% signal from my AP and when i attach a 2dbi external i get 30-55%
    Hey i've got the same card im working on the exact same thing for the mod. Only question is which capacitor do I remove? Are they the ones right by the mount points?

    Thanks in advance.


    Confused 1

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Try this

    Can't you just get a u.fl to RP-SMA pigtail? Just plug it into the tiny receptacle and your done. Is this correct? If this wil not work can anyone tell me why.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ellisinman View Post
    Can't you just get a u.fl to RP-SMA pigtail? Just plug it into the tiny receptacle and your done. Is this correct? If this wil not work can anyone tell me why.
    Well I hope no one was waiting on your answer there.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •