Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Discover a hidden ssid

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default Discover a hidden ssid

    hi,

    i've searched in the tutorial section and i was wondering, there are no topics about Discover a hidden ssid.

    im thinking, if it is generally possible, and when, how does it work?

    thanks a lot for answers.

    regards

  2. #2
    Member imported_blackfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    386

    Default passive

    A passive surveillance program such as kismet or a script in say python will reveal the ssid of a device based on activity between the AP and the station.
    Lux sit

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default

    thats the point, i ran kismet for a cuple of hours and airodump too. but they didn't discovered the ssid.

    is there another solution?

    is it only possible whan a client is connected?

    regards

  4. #4
    Member imported_blackfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    386

    Default this is the correct function

    Yes.

    The currect function of an 802.11 device configured to 'cloak' the ssid is that it should not transmit the ssid in its beacon.

    This makes it a little more difficult to trace and connect.

    When a new client initiates a contact to a known ssid cloaked or not, then the handshaking will disclose the ssid information in the frame. That is how scripts harvest such data.

    You will not receive 'see' an ssid on your monitoring system until an external station connects. Note also that unless one has a special driver and card combination a station device in monitor mode cannot also transmit.
    Lux sit

  5. #5
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sir_Smoke View Post
    is it only possible whan a client is connected?
    Or connecting.
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Do you just have to run airodump and once someone connects it will show the SSID?

  7. #7
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    That is one way. The guys have told you a few others as well

  8. #8
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    mdk2 rausb0 p -t 'APMAC' -b a

    try this will try to bruteforce ssid............
    there's an option for sdictionnary

    try mdk2 --help p

    mdk2 is in pentest/wireless/mdk2-v32
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default

    thx. i will chack that later @home.

    regards

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •