Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Unable to load GUI

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1

    Question Unable to load GUI

    I have downloaded Backtrack 5 R3 and successfully burned a live dvd. I can boot into the installation perfectly, but as soon as I get to the point
    Code:
    root@bt: ~#
    and I enter
    Code:
    startx
    the screen continues to be black. I have waited, but the GUI just won't prompt.
    In the FAQ I couldn't find the answer, so I made this topic. How can I get pas this problem? What am I doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: Unable to load GUI

    There are a lot of threads on the forum regarding a black screen when you type startx, given the fact that you mentioned no details about the video card or any other hardware piece I would recommend you search around the forum and see if some solutions work for you.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to load BT5 GUI
    By Brooks in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-14-2011, 06:25 AM
  2. unable to load dvd on laptop bt4final
    By blasboy in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-23-2010, 09:09 AM
  3. Unable to load BT3 beta
    By bluezodiac in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-24-2009, 04:46 AM
  4. unable to load sqlite3
    By coolabhijits in forum OLD BT3final Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-21-2009, 09:50 PM
  5. Unable to load BT3 on Compaq
    By YearZirO in forum OLD BT3beta
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-05-2008, 08:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •