Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: changing mac adress with macchanger

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default changing mac adress with macchanger

    Hello, i hope someone can halp me out,

    i'm trying to change the mac adress of my wifi card ( temporary)

    but i'm not really succesfull in specifying a particular adress.
    a random generated adress is no problem... in order to show what i mean, here is my entire iw and if config, including the commands i used:

    bt / # macchanger -r eth2
    Current MAC: 00:11:50:b1:b6:6f (Belkin Corporation)
    Faked MAC: 1c:19:fd:96:5e:ad (unknown)
    bt / # macchanger -m 01:00:5E:00:00:01 eth2
    Current MAC: 1c:19:fd:96:5e:ad (unknown)
    ERROR: Can't change MAC: interface up or not permission: Cannot assign requested address
    bt / # ifconfig
    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:15:00:23:E0:24
    inet addr:192.168.1.138 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::215:ff:fe23:e024/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:18382 errors:0 dropped:9 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:9458 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:20596690 (19.6 MiB) TX bytes:860768 (840.5 KiB)
    Interrupt:10 Base address:0xc000 Memory:f0000000-f0000fff

    eth2 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 1C-19-FD-96-5E-AD-30-3A-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    inet6 addr: fe80::211:50ff:feb1:b66f/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:671 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:88269 (86.2 KiB) TX bytes:468 (468.0 b)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    bt / # iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"thegreenhouse"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: 00:0C:41:3A:6D:9F
    Bit Rate:54 Mb/s Tx-Power=20 dBm Sensitivity=8/0
    Retry limit:7 RTS thr: off Fragment thr: off
    Encryption key: off
    Power Management: off
    Link Quality=85/100 Signal level=-45 dBm Noise level=-83 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:9 Missed beacon:0

    eth2 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID: off/any Nickname:"zd1211"
    Mode:Monitor Frequency:2.442 GHz Access Point: Invalid
    Bit Rate=1 Mb/s
    Encryption key: off
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    bt / #



    or simply use the ifconfig changer:

    bt / # ifconfig eth2 hw ether 01:00:5E:00:00:01
    SIOCSIFHWADDR: Cannot assign requested address
    bt / #

    this is only for the wireless card(s) the normal card ( not connected) gives no problems at all
    i think it has something to do with the wireless parts.
    if i give the command ifconfig eth2 down

    iwconfig eth2 gives information, and still works.

    is here anyone who has ideas?

  2. #2
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Here is your problem

    ERROR: Can't change MAC: interface up

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default

    that is something i allready new,

    but that wasn't the correct answer

    i tried again and i found out that macchanger cannot handle odd 2nd character in the mac adress

    just testing with some mac adresses
    bt ~ # macchanger -m 00:35:23:23:56:32 eth2
    Current MAC: 00:11:22:33:44:55 (Cimsys Inc)
    Faked MAC: 00:35:23:23:56:32 (unknown)
    bt ~ # macchanger -m 00:11:22:33:44:55 eth2
    Current MAC: 00:35:23:23:56:32 (unknown)
    Faked MAC: 00:11:22:33:44:55 (Cimsys Inc)
    bt ~ # macchanger -m 01:00:5e:00:00:01 eth2
    Current MAC: 00:11:22:33:44:55 (Cimsys Inc)
    ERROR: Can't change MAC: interface up or not permission: Cannot assign requested address
    bt ~ # macchanger -m 02:22:33:44:55:66 eth2
    Current MAC: 00:11:22:33:44:55 (Cimsys Inc)
    Faked MAC: 02:22:33:44:55:66 (unknown)
    bt ~ # macchanger -m 02:22:33:44:55:66 eth2

    and even more clearly

    ry `macchanger --help' for more options.
    bt ~ # macchanger -m 01:00:5f:00:00:01 eth2
    Current MAC: 02:22:33:44:55:66 (unknown)
    ERROR: Can't change MAC: interface up or not permission: Cannot assign requested address
    bt ~ # macchanger -m 01:00:5f:00:00:11 eth2
    Current MAC: 02:22:33:44:55:66 (unknown)
    ERROR: Can't change MAC: interface up or not permission: Cannot assign requested address
    bt ~ # macchanger -m 02:00:5f:00:00:11 eth2
    Current MAC: 02:22:33:44:55:66 (unknown)
    Faked MAC: 02:00:5f:00:00:11 (unknown)
    bt ~ # macchanger -m 03:00:5f:00:00:11 eth2
    Current MAC: 02:00:5f:00:00:11 (unknown)
    ERROR: Can't change MAC: interface up or not permission: Cannot assign requested address
    bt ~ # macchanger -m 04:00:5f:00:00:11 eth2
    Current MAC: 02:00:5f:00:00:11 (unknown)
    Faked MAC: 04:00:5f:00:00:11 (unknown)
    bt ~ # macchanger -m 05:00:5f:00:00:11 eth2
    Current MAC: 04:00:5f:00:00:11 (unknown)
    ERROR: Can't change MAC: interface up or not permission: Cannot assign requested address
    bt ~ # macchanger -m 06:00:5f:00:00:11 eth2
    Current MAC: 04:00:5f:00:00:11 (unknown)
    Faked MAC: 06:00:5f:00:00:11 (unknown)

  4. #4
    Member notlist3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    116

    Default

    Try to turn the card off first. I believe its ifconfig down.

  5. #5
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    ifconfig eth2 && macchanger --mac 00:35:23:23:56:32 eth2 && ifconfig eth2 up && ifconfig eth2;

    copy paste the previous line in console

    in one shot will down the card, change mac, up the card with new mac, display card config to verify that mac have changed....

    hope helps
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  6. #6
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    He is saying it wont change to a mac like this
    01:00:5f:00:00:01
    03:00:5f:00:00:01
    05:00:5f:00:00:01
    07:00:5f:00:00:01
    09:00:5f:00:00:01

    Where the second figure (hilighted one) is an odd number

  7. #7
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    mouarf i haven't see that......

    really odd lol
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default

    0dd it is,

    can you people take a look at it, and see if you can change it? to one of these mac adresses?

    same goes toe broadcast mac adress ( FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF ) edit: that gives exactly the same error as posted in my previous post

    it won't change into that
    now the question is exually what does this mac adress mean:


    edit: added more info on about the network..

    i got it from some accespoint nerby

    here is the packet:

    Size: 68, FromDS: 1, ToDS: 0 (WEP)

    BSSID = 00:01:E3:55:79:1B
    Dest. MAC = 01:00:5E:00:00:01
    Source MAC = 00:01:E3:55:79:19

    0x0000: 0842 0000 0100 5e00 0001 0001 e355 791b .B....^......Uy.
    0x0010: 0001 e355 7919 a09a 018a a300 1eb1 87e2 ...Uy...........
    0x0020: 385f 679e 5357 e810 1b32 4940 aec2 640c 8_g.SW...2I@..d.
    0x0030: 72a6 7220 c29f 5782 0965 cd3f 4a6e 7077 r.r ..W..e.?Jnpw
    0x0040: d5d1 58c6 ..X.

    ( in order to get arp replay working i need to know what mac adresses are being used / are associated.

    use that mac adres.... and start the arp replay but on this dest. adress it won't work.

    any suggestions?

  9. #9
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pjottrr View Post
    0dd it is,

    can you people take a look at it, and see if you can change it? to one of these mac adresses?

    same goes toe broadcast mac adress ( FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF )

    it won't change into that
    the reason is the folowing

    ( wil be added to the post in a few seconds)
    Well of course you can't change to FF:FF:FF:FF:FF, that only makes sense.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default

    it is not the point that i can't change into the broadcast adress,
    the point is, that i get exactly the same error when i want to us the broadcast adress

    01:00:5E:00:00:01

    it gaves in both cases: SIOCSIFHWADRR: cannot assign requestd adress

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •