Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: resolution backtrack 5 r3 HELP

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default resolution backtrack 5 r3 HELP

    the resolution of my backtrack 5 r3 is 800x600
    and I cannot have a higher resolution but I want resolution 1366x768
    who can help me to fix it?

  2. #2
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: resolution backtrack 5 r3 HELP

    really easy this one,

    Code:
    nano /usr/share/xresprobe/xorg.conf
    Find this section,
    Bt5.jpg
    (the first screen section)

    All you do is replace that resolution with the one you want, CRTL + X, yes to save config, reboot, enjoy!
    Last edited by Leifx; 11-04-2012 at 01:48 AM. Reason: more precise procedure

  3. #3
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: resolution backtrack 5 r3 HELP

    No it didnt worked

  4. #4
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: resolution backtrack 5 r3 HELP

    can you post your /usr/share/xresprobe/xorg.conf


    Thanks

  5. #5
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: resolution backtrack 5 r3 HELP

    hi.i am completely newbee and have the same problem.
    i use BT5R3KDE64 installed on harddrive.
    i have 2 monitors:
    1.Samsung LCD 37" 16:9
    2.Samsung TFT 19" 4:3
    if i use my 1. 37" the solution is automatic 1920x1080 and i cant change.
    if i use my 2. 19" the solution is 1024x768 and also cant change.
    i tested Settings-System Settins-Display and Monitor-Size & Orientation-Size, there are only 2 options for each monitor, 1920x1080 or disabled for the first and 1024x768 or disabled for the second.i also tryed to type in terminal: xrandr -s 800×600 but it says"Size 800x600 not found in available modes"
    I want to use 1024x768 for my 37", at the moment i turn the pc on wait 1 minute and then i put the vga cable on the monitor, then i have 1024x768 solution on my 37"
    in"nano /usr/share/xresprobe/xorg.conf" i changed the solution on 1, also saved it and the entry is also there after restart, here the nano /usr/share/xresprobe/xorg.conf
    Code:
    # bare-bones XFree86 config to start the server in probe-only mode
    Section "Files"
            FontPath        "/usr/share/X11/fonts/misc"
            RgbPath         "/etc/X11/rgb.txt"
    EndSection
    Section "ServerFlags"
            Option "AllowMouseOpenFail"
    EndSection
    Section "Module"
            Load    "bitmap"
            Load    "dbe"
            Load    "ddc"
            Load    "extmod"
            Load    "freetype"
            Load    "int10"
            Load    "record"
            Load    "vbe"
    EndSection
    Section "InputDevice"
            Identifier      "Generic Keyboard"
            Driver          "keyboard"
            Option          "CoreKeyboard"
            Option          "XkbRules"      "xorg"
            Option          "XkbModel"      "pc104"
            Option          "XkbLayout"     "us"
    EndSection
    Section "InputDevice"
            Identifier      "Generic Mouse"
            Driver          "mouse"
            Option          "CorePointer"
            Option          "Device"                "/dev/input/mice"
            Option          "Protocol"              "ImPS/2"
    EndSection
    Section "Device"
            Identifier      "Generic Device"
            Driver          "::DRIVER::"
    EndSection
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier      "Generic Monitor"
            Option          "DPMS"
    EndSection
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier      "Default Screen"
            Device          "Generic Device"
            Monitor         "Generic Monitor"
            DefaultDepth    24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Depth           1
                    Modes           "800x600"
            EndSubSection
            SubSection "Display"
                    Depth           4
                    Modes           "1024x768"
            EndSubSection
            SubSection "Display"
                    Depth           8
                    Modes           "1024x768"
            EndSubSection
            SubSection "Display"
                    Depth           15
                    Modes           "1024x768"
            EndSubSection
            SubSection "Display"
                    Depth           16
                    Modes           "1024x768"
            EndSubSection
            SubSection "Display"
                    Depth           24
                    Modes           "1024x768"
            EndSubSection
    EndSection
    Section "ServerLayout"
            Identifier      "Default Layout"
            Screen          "Default Screen"
            InputDevice     "Generic Keyboard"
            InputDevice     "Generic Mouse"
    EndSection

Similar Threads

  1. Resolution in Backtrack 5 R2 on my laptop
    By rual93 in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-01-2012, 01:12 PM
  2. backtrack 4 on usb 800/1200 resolution
    By brownpanda in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-01-2011, 09:22 AM
  3. Backtrack 4 Resolution
    By Nikoleye in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-14-2009, 03:38 AM
  4. BackTrack 3 resolution issue
    By Toliot in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-19-2008, 03:45 AM
  5. changing backtrack resolution..
    By mia_tech in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-28-2007, 03:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •