Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Problem with changing MAC address

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Problem with changing MAC address

    Hi, every one. I have a problem with changing my mac address. I tried to change it by commands:

    ifconfig wlan0 down
    macchanger -m 00:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
    ifconfig wlan0 up

    At first,the mac address had been change.But then I tried to connect to the acess point, it didn't connect to the netwrok and the mac address change back to the one before spoofing.

    Could anyone suggest me about this problem?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Problem with changing MAC address

    If this is your AP then you need to reset it! you can't have an IP with 2 different Macs associated with it so when you try to access it have the Mac spoofed 1st then keep that IP & MAC together .
    Or use static IP address with any Mac you choose but if running DHCP this will not allow it!

  3. #3
    Just burned their ISO anashlali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Problem with changing MAC address

    you should use:
    macchanger wlan1 -m xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx

Similar Threads

  1. Error during changing MAC address Backtrack 5
    By ToonVA in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-06-2011, 07:20 PM
  2. help: After changing mac address, network doesn't work
    By mux0x55 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-15-2009, 02:17 PM
  3. Changing Mac Address
    By hightech in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-14-2008, 12:13 AM
  4. Error while changing MAC address
    By rahul in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-30-2008, 01:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •