Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Backtrack 5 R3 on Virtualbox does not get ip-address (bridged network)

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Backtrack 5 R3 on Virtualbox does not get ip-address (bridged network)

    Hi,

    I have tried searching for a solution for days with no result. I am running virtualbox with backtrack on win7 host. A couple of days ago i had everything working and all was fine, until i tried bridging to an ethernet adapter. Now when i bridge to my wireless adapter, there is no inet address on guests eth0 (ethernet does not work either). I have also disabled the firewall. Sorry about the confusing explanation, I have included outputs to ipconfig+ifconfig and some screenshots. Thank you for your help.

    ipconfig on win7:
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : wifi
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e006:1d0d:ed5f:3917%12
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.8.99
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::49bd:d617:c1e4:cc35%12
    192.168.8.1
    ifconfig on BackTrack:
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:00:27:a8:bd:8f
    inet6 addr: fe80::a00:27ff:fea8:bd8f/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX Packets:1614 errors:0 dropped:5 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX Packets:25 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:120827 (120.8 KB) TX bytes:6218 (6.2KB)




  2. #2
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Backtrack 5 R3 on Virtualbox does not get ip-address (bridged network)

    Quote Originally Posted by Malista View Post
    Hi,

    I have tried searching for a solution for days with no result. I am running virtualbox with backtrack on win7 host. A couple of days ago i had everything working and all was fine, until i tried bridging to an ethernet adapter. Now when i bridge to my wireless adapter, there is no inet address on guests eth0 (ethernet does not work either). I have also disabled the firewall. Sorry about the confusing explanation, I have included outputs to ipconfig+ifconfig and some screenshots. Thank you for your help.
    I'd be interested in finding out if anybody replied - maybe offline?!? Same problem now on my new macbookpro osx mountain lion, oracle virtualbox & BT-R3 - cannot get an IP via DHCP, be is in bridged or NAT mode. All other VMs (Security Onion, a std Ubuntu and some windows ones) work just fine.

Similar Threads

  1. VMware workstation 8, NIC not working in bridged more with backtrack 5 r1
    By hikmatic in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-14-2011, 07:17 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-19-2011, 04:09 AM
  3. BackTrack 4 R2, VMware Player 3.1.3 & Bridged Networking
    By ColForbin in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-01-2011, 08:19 AM
  4. A strange IP address in my network!!
    By generaluser123 in forum OLD Pentesting
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-05-2009, 09:37 PM
  5. MAC address on ADHOC network
    By letmein in forum OLD Wireless
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-07-2009, 06:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •