Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Sound problem in Backtrack 5 R3

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Sound problem in Backtrack 5 R3

    Hello fellow backtracker's,

    This will be my first thread (and first post), but not my last!

    I have been a frequent user of Backtrack since B3 so I know some of the tricks, but now to my problem.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    The issue that I'm having is that I have no sound, at all! I'm running my backtrack iso on a MacBook pro 2009(?) (only installation) and I cant get the audio to work.

    I have tried with the pulse audio fix with the autostart command but still no success.

    I have tried searching here and on the web for issue's like mine, but I only come across the "pulse audio"-fix.

    So if you have any tips for me or any questions just let me know! Here is mine lspci/lspci -nv


    lspci:

    ller: nVidia Corporation MCP79 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev b1)
    00:08.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP79 High Definition Audio (rev b1)
    00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP79 PCI Bridge (rev b1)
    00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP79 Ethernet (rev b1)
    00:0b.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP79 SATA Controller (rev b1)
    00:10.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP79 PCI Express Bridge (rev b1)
    00:15.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP79 PCI Express Bridge (rev b1)
    00:16.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP79 PCI Express Bridge (rev b1)
    02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation C79 [GeForce 9400M] (rev b1)
    03:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4322 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller (rev 01)
    04:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Agere Systems FW643 PCI Express1394b Controller (PHY/Link) (rev 07)
    And here is the lspci -nv:

    Expansion ROM at 93000000 [disabled] [size=128K]
    Capabilities: [60] Power Management version 2
    Capabilities: [68] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable-
    Kernel driver in use: nouveau
    Kernel modules: nouveau, nvidiafb

    03:00.0 0280: 14e4:432b (rev 01)
    Subsystem: 106b:008d
    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 23
    Memory at 93200000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
    Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
    Capabilities: [58] Vendor Specific Information <?>
    Capabilities: [e8] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable-
    Capabilities: [d0] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
    Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting <?>
    Capabilities: [13c] Virtual Channel <?>
    Capabilities: [160] Device Serial Number 26-00-df-ff-ff-08-ad-65
    Capabilities: [16c] Power Budgeting <?>
    Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge
    Kernel modules: ssb

    04:00.0 0c00: 11c1:5901 (rev 07) (prog-if 10)
    Subsystem: 11c1:5900
    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 7
    Memory at 93100000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
    Capabilities: [44] Power Management version 3
    Capabilities: [4c] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable-
    Capabilities: [60] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
    Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting <?>
    Capabilities: [140] Virtual Channel <?>
    Capabilities: [170] Device Serial Number 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    Kernel modules: firewire-ohci

    Best regards Cerib





    I just wanted to make a quick update,

    apparently the sound works, but only if you have earphone plugged in.

    Any thoughts?
    Last edited by g0tmi1k; 10-18-2012 at 01:15 PM.

  2. #2
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Sound problem in Backtrack 5 R3

    I had a similar problem, not sure if you fixed your problem yet or not. What I did to fix my problem was go through this route.

    System > Preferences > Startup Applications

    Once your in the Startup Application click on the add to add a new startup application.

    Next for the information put PulseAudio for name, for the command /usr/bin/pulseaudio and for the comment i put Audio... reboot and your problem should be fixed.

    Good Luck

Similar Threads

  1. Backtrack 5 VMware sound problem...help please
    By binbashLetsgetsmashed in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-08-2012, 06:22 AM
  2. Backtrack 5 R2 Gnome 64bit - sound interface problem
    By Osirium in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-28-2012, 12:52 AM
  3. No Sound problem
    By Ghostleader in forum BackTrack 5 Bugs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-27-2011, 03:04 PM
  4. sound problem
    By Yaxley in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-23-2008, 01:07 PM
  5. Sound problem with BT3
    By DoubleJ in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-08-2008, 06:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •