Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: [Virtual Box] Backtrack installation ( HDD ) issue.

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default [Virtual Box] Backtrack installation ( HDD ) issue.

    Hello BackTrack Team,
    This is my first time making a thread but sorry if it's in the wrong section or I did anything wrong.
    I'm currently experiencing a problem with installing BackTrack 5 R3.
    My system specification :
    CPU : Intel Pentium G860 Dual Core 3 GHz
    OS : Windows 7 x86
    RAM : 4 GB ( 2x2 )
    HDD : 500 GB ( C: 74.2 GB, D: 391 GB )
    Graphic card : AMD Radeon 6670 HD 1 GB

    Here's my problem.
    What I've done lately by following a tutorial describing " How to install BackTrack 5 R3 on Windows 7 using Virtual Box "
    1. Downloaded & installed Virtual Box
    2. Downloaded BackTrack 5 R3 KDE x86
    3. I configured a new Virtual Machine Box and started it. Everything was running perfectly. I got it to this :
    Without the "Installation complete" message, just ignore it like it doesn't exists
    4. I ran the "Install BackTrack" .exe file but I suddenly saw that by default it install on Local Disk "C". On my Local Disk C:, I've got only 33 free GB out of 74 GB and I know it needs at least 30-40 GB for full installation.
    My problem is : While installing, running out of disk space on "C:"
    My question : Is there a way to install the program on my Local Disk "D:" where I currently have 200+ GB free disk space and if so, how?

  2. #2
    Moderator g0tmi1k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,771

    Default Re: [Virtual Box] Backtrack installation ( HDD ) issue.

    Depending on your configuration, the virtual hard disk can "expand". So its only as big as it needs to be - not the complete size.

    Also, you can move the virtual machine to a different partition.
    Have you...g0tmi1k?

  3. #3
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: [Virtual Box] Backtrack installation ( HDD ) issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by g0tmi1k View Post
    Depending on your configuration, the virtual hard disk can "expand". So its only as big as it needs to be - not the complete size.

    Also, you can move the virtual machine to a different partition.
    Does that means, if I install the virtual machine in local disk "D:", the program is gonna be installed in local disk "D:" ?

  4. #4
    Moderator g0tmi1k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,771

    Default Re: [Virtual Box] Backtrack installation ( HDD ) issue.

    Everything you install inside a VM, says inside the VM.
    So where ever the VM is located, all the files will be.
    Have you...g0tmi1k?

  5. #5
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: [Virtual Box] Backtrack installation ( HDD ) issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by g0tmi1k View Post
    Everything you install inside a VM, says inside the VM.
    So where ever the VM is located, all the files will be.
    I took your advice and installed Oracle VM in my Local Disk "D:"
    After I started the virtual machine, I tried to install BackTrack it started and I opened My Computer, it was installing on my Local Disk "C:"
    If there is a tutorial or if you could help me via TeamViewer, I would appreciate it.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the hell
    Posts
    91

    Default Re: [Virtual Box] Backtrack installation ( HDD ) issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by Snopex View Post
    Hello BackTrack Team,
    This is my first time making a thread but sorry if it's in the wrong section or I did anything wrong.
    I'm currently experiencing a problem with installing BackTrack 5 R3.
    My system specification :
    CPU : Intel Pentium G860 Dual Core 3 GHz
    OS : Windows 7 x86
    RAM : 4 GB ( 2x2 )
    HDD : 500 GB ( C: 74.2 GB, D: 391 GB )
    Graphic card : AMD Radeon 6670 HD 1 GB

    Here's my problem.
    What I've done lately by following a tutorial describing " How to install BackTrack 5 R3 on Windows 7 using Virtual Box "
    1. Downloaded & installed Virtual Box
    2. Downloaded BackTrack 5 R3 KDE x86
    3. I configured a new Virtual Machine Box and started it. Everything was running perfectly. I got it to this :
    Without the "Installation complete" message, just ignore it like it doesn't exists
    4. I ran the "Install BackTrack" .exe file but I suddenly saw that by default it install on Local Disk "C". On my Local Disk C:, I've got only 33 free GB out of 74 GB and I know it needs at least 30-40 GB for full installation.
    My problem is : While installing, running out of disk space on "C:"
    My question : Is there a way to install the program on my Local Disk "D:" where I currently have 200+ GB free disk space and if so, how?
    You can move the VirtualBox's VM to drive D:.

    File --> Preference --> General --> Default Machine Folder

    Change the location there and copy all the vms to the new location.

    Samiux

  7. #7
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: [Virtual Box] Backtrack installation ( HDD ) issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by samiux View Post
    You can move the VirtualBox's VM to drive D:.

    File --> Preference --> General --> Default Machine Folder

    Change the location there and copy all the vms to the new location.

    Samiux
    I changed the location and created a new VM, but it's still installing BackTrack on Local Disk "C:"
    Am I doing anything wrong?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the hell
    Posts
    91

    Default Re: [Virtual Box] Backtrack installation ( HDD ) issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by Snopex View Post
    I changed the location and created a new VM, but it's still installing BackTrack on Local Disk "C:"
    Am I doing anything wrong?
    Weird. Double check the setting.

    Samiux
    Think like a criminal and act as a professional.

  9. #9
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: [Virtual Box] Backtrack installation ( HDD ) issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by samiux View Post
    Weird. Double check the setting.

    Samiux
    Tell me if I did something wrong.
    http://tinypic.com/r/2v9924p/6
    I don't know but those things always happen to me, I kinda have bad luck..

  10. #10
    Moderator g0tmi1k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,771

    Default Re: [Virtual Box] Backtrack installation ( HDD ) issue.

    Thats the default path for NEW machines - but did you manually move the CURRENT virtual machine?
    Have you...g0tmi1k?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. BT4 R2 installation issue
    By aerokid240 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-01-2010, 04:20 PM
  2. dhcpd3 on backtrack 4 pre final virtual interface issue
    By Jogurt in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-07-2010, 05:38 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-15-2010, 11:42 AM
  4. Virtual Box installation problems
    By deb0and in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-03-2010, 07:11 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-15-2010, 06:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •