Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: atkbd.c error on boot

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5

    Angry atkbd.c error on boot

    I just installled Backtrack 2 on my computer, but when I go to boot it starts repeating the line.

    "atkbd.c: Spurious ACK on isa0660/serio0 Some program might be trying to access the hardware directly"

    My computer specs are:
    Celeron 2.0 Ghz
    128 mb RAM
    Imperial_GV 20020629 eMachine Motherboard 132872

    I looked online for information on the error message, but all of it is WAY over my head. One person said it was a bug with the Linux kernel when dealing with SATA, but my mother board doesn't have a SATA slot on it. Another person said it had something to do with the kernel's "iptables" I have no clue what that means.

    The live works, but once it is installed the error starts happening.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated if someone knows what to do.

  2. #2
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    What type of install did you do, and what guide did you follow ?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Of the two options the installer program gave me I set it to install to the harddisk not to usb mass storage. It didn't ask for anything else which surprised me. Is there another installer (that offers more options) I can use besides the one given after the live boot up?

    I also tried to boot the live cd using the debug mode, but it would not work said the kernel image did not exist.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default

    Did you try running BT2 as a live CD? Did everthing appear to work ok?
    128M is too little to run kde. so you may be better off running fluxbox
    (if you want a desktop).
    After logging into the live cd with root and pw toor type:
    dmesg

    or dmeg | less

    to look through the kernel messages. If you see the same message
    then you have problems which is why a HD install is not working.

    You may find that the problems only start when you run in X windows,
    so check the kernel logs then start a gui with either
    startx
    startflux

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    It works fine as the live cd and I have been running Flux. Everything works fine, except my wireless card, but I figured that wouldn't work anyways. I will have to do what you suggested tomorrow. I will respond then.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Ok I did as Mephisto suggested and searched for it in the logs of the Live startup the error does not happen there.

    Here are pictures of the bug and other another thing that comes up.

    picasaweb.google.com/wiggyh/Bug


    The unknown video mode isn't critical since I can manually set a value for it manually.

    Hopefully the picture of the bug and what happens prior to the bug will explain something.

  7. #7
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    I think you should just do a manual install using the dualboot video and transcript, you just need to miss the steps for the second OS and change the partition assignments to make it work for a singe boot install.

    I think you had a problem with the install as it works from a live cd.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    How do I go about manually installing?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •