Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Is apt-get working?

  1. #11
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Is apt-get working?

    Upgrades installed packages to their most recent version, removing or installing packages as necessary. This command is less conservative
    than safe-upgrade and thus more likely to perform unwanted actions. However, it is capable of upgrading packages that safe-upgrade cannot
    upgrade.



    I totally agree.

    I'm very pleased that someone is reading the "man aptitude"...That is the way to learn..Congratulations fmsam, great contribution to the community..

    By the way, did you like reading the "man aptitude"?..See how easy it is..Now you learned a lot and know all options to aptitude..

    Luck.
    Last edited by maverik35; 10-16-2012 at 09:06 AM.

  2. #12
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Is apt-get working?

    Quote Originally Posted by g0tmi1k View Post
    The repositories haven't been updated in a while.
    The last 'close' (e.g. what could of been pushed out), was on (20120-08-18)

    http://redmine.backtrack-linux.org:8...track/activity
    http://redmine.backtrack-linux.org:8...ack/repository
    Thanks. This is the answer of what I was asking for.

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Is apt-get working?

    I am still getting:
    "...
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    ..."
    when i run apt-get update && apt-get upgrade.

    This is on a BT5 R3 32bit KDE. This was not an upgrade but rather a fresh install in august.
    Updates seemed to work for a while after the installation, but then stopped.

    Seems like it been like this for awhile.

  4. #14
    Moderator g0tmi1k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,771

    Default Re: Is apt-get working?

    Quote Originally Posted by dagger3d View Post
    I am still getting:
    "...
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    ..."
    when i run apt-get update && apt-get upgrade.

    This is on a BT5 R3 32bit KDE. This was not an upgrade but rather a fresh install in august.
    Updates seemed to work for a while after the installation, but then stopped.

    Seems like it been like this for awhile.
    Read 3 posts up for yours (link: http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...l=1#post225819)
    Have you...g0tmi1k?

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO oddacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Is apt-get working?

    Quote Originally Posted by fmsamfkasf View Post
    Hi,

    I installed BT R3 64-Bit Gnome in VMWare environment. When I try to run "apt-get update" command, I do not get any error and it hits some repositories as well. Then I execute "apt-get upgrade" and the result is always (i.e. in the last 2 months) "0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded." Is this normal? I do expect that some updates exist sometimes within repositories? I did install synaptic. Could it crash some configurations?
    try:
    apt-get update
    apt-get dist-upgrade

  6. #16
    Moderator g0tmi1k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,771

    Default Re: Is apt-get working?

    Question has been answered.
    Locking this thread.
    Have you...g0tmi1k?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Strange problem: AWUS036H working in BT5-KDE-VM-32. NOT working in BT5-GNOME-VM-32
    By sekstiseks in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-11-2011, 11:09 AM
  2. AWUS036NH working, then NOT working.
    By LITR00 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 04:53 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-26-2010, 10:59 PM
  4. DNS Spoofing is working/working not!
    By htons139 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-19-2010, 08:20 PM
  5. Belkin F5D7050e - Confirmed working/Not working?
    By Beanz in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-07-2008, 06:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •