Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Booting R3 takes a long time, hangs on configuring networking

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    12

    Default Booting R3 takes a long time, hangs on configuring networking

    Hi,

    Booting up R3 from a hdd install seems to hang several minutes. The message it gives is "configuring networking" and after that "taking up to 60 seconds ...". So itś a good guess that something is going on with networking. I've been trying to find a way through logfiles etc. to find out what exactly is happening, but cannot find it. Can anyone point me a step further?

  2. #2
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Booting R3 takes a long time, hangs on configuring networking

    Please, be more specific as to what you're doing after startx...

    type of wifi or ethernet (chipset), any commands used after startx?...

    Luck.

  3. #3
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Booting R3 takes a long time, hangs on configuring networking

    Hi,

    These are my nics, one standard wired ethernet connectionwhich I'm not using and a wlan card.

    Code:
    07:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)
    08:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8191SEvA Wireless LAN Controller (rev 10)
    The wlan card is setup to automatically connect to my wlan at home. Maybe that's taking the time, so I'll try with disabling that.

    See below for a ifconfig layout:
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr aa:00:04:00:0a:04  
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
              Interrupt:51 Base address:0x4000 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:22670 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:22670 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:6198714 (6.1 MB)  TX bytes:6198714 (6.1 MB)
    
    vmnet1    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:50:56:c0:00:01  
              inet addr:172.16.84.1  Bcast:172.16.84.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fec0:1/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:57 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    
    vmnet8    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:50:56:c0:00:08  
              inet addr:172.16.97.1  Bcast:172.16.97.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fec0:8/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:57 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 7c:4f:b5:d1:06:48  
              inet addr:192.168.0.145  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::7e4f:b5ff:fed1:648/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:7784 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:4609 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:5853204 (5.8 MB)  TX bytes:781989 (781.9 KB)
    As you can see wlan is connected. Besides that is have VMWare palyer 5.0x installed which accounts for the wmnet1 and vmnet8 nics. Perhaps those are the problem?

    The delay manifests itself in the booting process, so before startx is run and I can do anything.

    Anymore information I can provide?

    Quote Originally Posted by maverik35 View Post
    Please, be more specific as to what you're doing after startx...

    type of wifi or ethernet (chipset), any commands used after startx?...

    Luck.

  4. #4
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Booting R3 takes a long time, hangs on configuring networking

    Hi,

    Found out myself. Commented out everything except loopback interface in /etc/network/interfaces.

Similar Threads

  1. Pyrit Batch Command takes long time, is it required?
    By nam5301 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-17-2011, 09:16 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-15-2010, 08:48 AM
  3. How long does it takes u to get comfortable with BT?
    By busabling in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-19-2009, 06:16 AM
  4. How do I use Nikto to scan for user account? Takes too long time.
    By imported_capron in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-28-2008, 07:22 AM
  5. BT3 takes too long to boot!!
    By blastoff in forum OLD BT3beta NON-WORKING HARDWARE
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-29-2008, 03:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •