Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Fake AP to collect WPA key ?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    44

    Default Fake AP to collect WPA key ?

    Hello,
    since it's possible to make wifi cards act as and Access Point under Linux, I was thinking if it's possible to create a "fake" wireless network with the same essid as the victim's one and collect the password.

    Is this possible ? In theory.


    Thanks,
    regards

  2. #2
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tex-Twil View Post
    Hello,
    since it's possible to make wifi cards act as and Access Point under Linux, I was thinking if it's possible to create a "fake" wireless network with the same essid as the victim's one and collect the password.

    Is this possible ? In theory.


    Thanks,
    regards
    Your theory is wrong. I'll let you think about it and see if you can figure out why.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by streaker69 View Post
    Your theory is wrong. I'll let you think about it and see if you can figure out why.
    Cos the password just doesn't go from the client to the server. And it is the AP who authenticates the client so the AP has to know the psk. And the authentication is mutual.

  4. #4
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tex-Twil View Post
    Cos the password just doesn't go from the client to the server. And it is the AP who authenticates the client so the AP has to know the psk.
    There ya go, now that wasn't hard was it?
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by streaker69 View Post
    There ya go, now that wasn't hard was it?
    no it wasn't. I would even qualify my question as "stupid"

    cheers

  6. #6
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tex-Twil View Post
    no it wasn't. I would even qualify my question as "stupid"

    cheers
    There are no stupid questions, only stupid people asking them....


    <looks to the idiot corner>
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  7. #7
    Senior Member PrairieFire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    705

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tex-Twil View Post
    Hello,
    since it's possible to make wifi cards act as and Access Point under Linux, I was thinking if it's possible to create a "fake" wireless network with the same essid as the victim's one and collect the password.

    Is this possible ? In theory.


    Thanks,
    regards
    Would need physical access and even then if the PC does not have admin privileges you cannot obtain a saved key.
    Μολὼν λαβέ - Great spirits encounter heavy opposition from mediocre minds.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default

    as far as i know windows xp only needs essid to connect to the AP
    and if the AP ESSID was in its preferred network setting it will automatically connect to the one with stronger signal
    and that can be easily done with a 10-15 db antenna for the rausb0 card

    ----
    i think it is possible ..but i don't know how

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •