Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: BackTrack 2 not detecting WG511T

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11

    Default BackTrack 2 not detecting WG511T

    I'm running the BackTrack 2 Live CD on my Acer Aspire 5010 laptop, however my Netgear WG511T is not detected on startup or if the card is removed and re-insterted. The card is fully functional in Windows XP and Ubuntu 7.04 but BackTrack 2 does not detect the PCMCIA card or any other card in the slot.

    Does anyone know how to fix this? I've tried various solutions on the forums but not had any luck.

  2. #2
    Member imported_blackfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    386

    Default dmesg

    Type the following and reply with the output please

    dmesg | grep PCMCIA

    dmesg | grep pcmcia

    ifconfig

    ifconfig eth1 up

    ifconfig
    Lux sit

  3. #3
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    that card will come up as ath0 not eth1 it is atheros based

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Here's the results from those commands:

    bt ~ # dmesg | grep PCMCIA
    bt ~ # dmesg | grep pcmcia
    cs: pcmcia_socket0: cardbus cards are not supported.
    bt ~ # ifconfig
    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    bt ~ # ifconfig eth1 up
    bt ~ # ifconfig eth1
    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:CE:13E:C6
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:4 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:4 Base address:0x8000
    I also tried ath0 but got this:

    bt ~ # ifconfig ath0 up
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    I've looked around the forums and other people seem to be having similar problems with BT2 but not with BT1, is there any reason the BT2 would not recognise my pcmcia slot?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    130

    Default

    try a Generl iwconfig and a ifconfig. See if your cards got a sneaky name to it.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Got it working now!

    The solutions was to use the following boot options: "bt irqpoll acpi=off".

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default Boot options?

    Hey, I just so happen to be having the same problem as you. I've been trying to get backtrack 2 to work with my WG511T. You said
    "The solutions was to use the following boot options: "bt irqpoll acpi=off"."

    How would I do this? Put this into a command window or the initial startup screen to load the visual interface?
    Any help would be AWESOME!

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11

    Default

    You put this in the initial startup screen where is says

    ISOLINUX 3.36 2007-02-10 Copyright (C) 1994-2007 H. Peter Anvin
    boot:
    Using this command does mean that some other devices are not detected, in my case the battery is not automatically detected.

  9. #9
    Junior Member gt5401d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    27

    Default

    I have acer aspire too, had exact same problem, works in windows, not in linux, worked fine this way, wonder what causes it?

  10. #10

    Default

    see my thread i posted
    "wep crack 64bit step by step"
    im using
    NETGEAR WG511T with a packard bell easynote E3 series & works fine for me

    if you cant make sence of my thread, see Xploitz video tutorials as they ROCK!!

    ** credits 2 Xploitz for his video tutorials **

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •