Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Irqpoll problem on Notebook (hd installation)

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default Irqpoll problem on Notebook (hd installation)

    Hi,
    I have an Acer Travelmate 529txv...
    with BT2 livecd, boot process freezes WITHOUT
    bt irqpoll
    option...

    Boot process is ok with it...

    I have installed on harddisk the distro.
    Same way. Freezes without bt irqpoll...
    it's perfect if I press Tab and write bt irqpoll.

    Like BaldingParrot suggests, I have wrote this line: append = "irqpoll"
    on my lilo.conf on /etc/ on the partition where BT2 is installed /dev/hda1


    My lilo.conf
    --------------------------
    boot = /dev/hda1
    prompt
    timeout = 20
    bitmap=/boot/splash.bmp
    change-rules
    reset
    vga = 0x317
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
    append = "irqpoll"
    root = current
    initrd = /boot/splash.initrd
    label = bt
    read-only

    ----------------------------

    but no results... the pc freezes...
    The last screen:
    ----------------------------
    ......................
    handlers:
    [<c03613a0>] (ide_intr+0x0/0x100)
    Disabling IRQ #15
    ide1 at 0x0x170-0x177,0x376 on irq15
    hda: max request size: 128KiB
    hda: 39070080 sectors (20003 MB) w/1806KiB Cache, CHS=38760/16/63, UDMA(33)
    hda: cache flushes not supported
    hda: hda1
    ide-cd: cmd 0x5a timed out
    hdc: lost interrupt
    ide-cd: cmd 0x5a timed out
    hdc: lost interrupt
    hdc: ATAPI 24X DVD-ROM drive, 256kB Cache, UDMA(33)
    Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.20
    hdc: lost interrupt
    ide-cd: cmd 0x3 timed out
    hdc: lost interrupt
    hdc: request sense failure: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
    hdc: request sense failure: error=0x64 { AbortedCommad LastFailedSense=0x06 }
    ----------------------------
    Here freezes...

    It seems the lilo.conf is not read by the system...
    but I'm sure I have only one partition HDA1 ext3 (verified with qtparted or cfdisk)

    The name HDA is suggested by the BT... (i don't understand why many users have SDA instead)

    Anyone has any ideas to solve this problem?

    sorry for errors ...

    Thanks in advance.
    Leo

  2. #2
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    try bt nocd......

    some dvd can cause pb sometimes
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shamanvirtuel View Post
    try bt nocd......

    some dvd can cause pb sometimes
    my problem is not on prompt ... only bt irqpoll is enough to work right.

    eventually append = "irqpoll nocd"

    but...

    Quote Originally Posted by balding_parrot View Post
    change that to

    append="irqpoll"

    and put it just above the read-only line

    Code:
    label = bt
    append="irqpoll"
    read-only
    I have tried there and without spaces... same result...

    I have told it seems the os doesn't read the lilo.conf , cause if I increase the timeout = 1000 value, this operation have no effect on time delay...

    Leo

  4. #4
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    have you just edited lilo.conf or have you written those changes to the mbr.

    If you are getting no change, the I suspect you are just editing the lilo.conf

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by balding_parrot View Post
    have you just edited lilo.conf or have you written those changes to the mbr.

    If you are getting no change, the I suspect you are just editing the lilo.conf
    I have just edited (and saved) the lilo.conf file...

    which other operation have I do?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Leobester View Post
    I have just edited (and saved) the lilo.conf file...

    which other operation have I do?

    Thanks
    Go back to your first post where you said as suggested by me, go back to that post and I expect that it was explained there, if not, read up on lilo.

  7. #7
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    change that to

    append="irqpoll"

    and put it just above the read-only line

    Code:
    label = bt
    append="irqpoll"
    read-only

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •