Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: AWUS036H in BT5 VMware on W7

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default AWUS036H in BT5 VMware on W7

    Hello,

    I really hope someone can help, I have seen many others with similar issues but cannot get any of their fixes to work for myself. As I am fairly new to Linux I am struggling to make head or tale of this. I am trying to follow a WEP cracking tutorial from lifehacker, and although I can use internet through firefox or another browser I am struggling with working through the tutorial and seeing the adapter. For info I am using the AWUS036H on BT5r2 through VMplayer on W7.

    When attempting to spoof the mac with macchanger, this can work fine at times, however the adapter is not listed as I would expect, just eth0 (which I read could be it). I would have expected wlan0?, also if I do manage to ignore that and go with eth0 I get the following error

    Found 2 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!

    PID Name
    995 dhclient3
    1817 dhclient3
    Process with PID 1817 (dhclient3) is running on interface wlan0

    I have 'airmon-ng check kill'ed these dhclients but to no avail, one just reappears each time I run airodump. Please see output from basic commands below, and thanks in advance!!!



    - Basic output of commands (ifconfig, iwconfig, lspci, lsusb, dmesg, etc.)
    fconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:22:33:44:55
    inet addr:192.168.80.129 Bcast:192.168.80.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::211:22ff:fe33:4455/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:7516 errors:1 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:29182 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:978055 (978.0 KB) TX bytes:1992905 (1.9 MB)
    Interrupt:19 Base address:0x2000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:268027 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:268027 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:32739065 (32.7 MB) TX bytes:32739065 (32.7 MB)

    wconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 01)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 01)
    00:07.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 08)
    00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
    00:07.3 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 08)
    00:07.7 System peripheral: VMware Virtual Machine Communication Interface (rev 10)
    00:0f.0 VGA compatible controller: VMware SVGA II Adapter
    00:10.0 SCSI storage controller: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c1030 PCI-X Fusion-MPT Dual Ultra320 SCSI (rev 01)
    00:11.0 PCI bridge: VMware PCI bridge (rev 02)
    00:15.0 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:15.1 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:15.2 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:15.3 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:15.4 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:15.5 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:15.6 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:15.7 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:16.0 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:16.1 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:16.2 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:16.3 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:16.4 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:16.5 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:16.6 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:16.7 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:17.0 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:17.1 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:17.2 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:17.3 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:17.4 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:17.5 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:17.6 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:17.7 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:18.0 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:18.1 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:18.2 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:18.3 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:18.4 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:18.5 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:18.6 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    00:18.7 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
    02:00.0 USB Controller: VMware USB1.1 UHCI Controller
    02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] 79c970 [PCnet32 LANCE] (rev 10)
    02:02.0 Multimedia audio controller: Ensoniq ES1371 [AudioPCI-97] (rev 02)
    02:03.0 USB Controller: VMware USB2 EHCI Controller

  2. #2
    Member stepking2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    83

    Default Re: AWUS036H in BT5 VMware on W7

    Shut down the VM, then filter the AWUS036H, so it always connect to the Guest OS, when that runs.

    Also, in terminal, try typing "ifconfig wlan0 up".

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: AWUS036H in BT5 VMware on W7

    Stepking2, thanks very much for the reply. A few quesitons though,

    1. Can you clarify what you mean by filtering the AWUS036H? - I can disable it, or disconnect it on the host machine....?
    2. Should I be putting the ifconfig wlan0 up into terminal before startx the GUI, or is it irrelevant?
    3. At present I am still only getting eth and lo from my ifconfig query, i would expect ifconfig to show wlan0 before i can put it 'up'?

  4. #4
    Member stepking2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    83

    Default Re: AWUS036H in BT5 VMware on W7

    1. Filtering it means that when the VM starts, the VM gets the adapter imediately, so it doesn't conflict with the host OS.
    I don't know how to do it in VMWare, but in VirtualBox, it's just: Settings-USB.
    2. The terminal before x servers starts, is the same as the one in the X windows manager. You could do it either way.
    3. When I got my AWUS036NHA, it didn't show in "ifconfig" (showed in iwconfig, though), before it put it up ("ifconfig wlan0 up").

Similar Threads

  1. AWUS036H + VMWare + BT 5 r2
    By S3iZUR3S in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-31-2012, 12:10 PM
  2. Networking - Alfa AWUS036H - BT4 and VMware 7
    By Valkyrie in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-16-2010, 12:19 AM
  3. Alfa AWUS036H with BT3 Vmware Issues
    By Tornalis in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-22-2009, 08:55 PM
  4. Alfa AWUS036H VMWare
    By cliffyb1 in forum OLD BackTrack 3 Final
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-05-2009, 03:33 AM
  5. AWUS036H+Vmware 6.01+BT2 = No wifi ??
    By krooom in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-23-2007, 02:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •