Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Problem with john - b5r2

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Problem with john - b5r2

    Hi

    I have this irritating problem while using JTR. Basicaly when I try to use it with a wordlist ,it's always not working! It appears as if everything was fine, however, when I use 500 mb wordlist john finishes it in 16 seconds. That's obviously not working properly, therefore I would like to ask a question.

    What am I doing wrong?
    -I've tried dual-boot and livecd; doesn't work on either
    -I try this command:

    cd /pentest/passwords/john
    ./john
    john --wordlist=something.txt --format=raw-md5 database.txt

    I've also tried switching places --wordlist with --format
    Doesn't work. I've ran out of ideas. Any suqqestions?

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Problem with john - b5r2

    Quote Originally Posted by badongoq View Post
    Hi
    What am I doing wrong?
    -I've tried dual-boot and livecd; doesn't work on either
    -I try this command:

    cd /pentest/passwords/john
    ./john
    john --wordlist=something.txt --format=raw-md5 database.txt
    Hi,
    most likely there is something wrong with your database.txt. To test your istallation try:

    Code:
    echo password | md5sum | awk '{print $1}' > testfile.txt
    this will generate a testfile with a known entry
    generate a wordlist by

    Code:
    echo password > testwl.txt
    and run
    Code:
    ./john --wordlist=testwl.txt --format=raw-MD5 testfile.txt
    If the password is cracked JTR is working fine.

    Best regards

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Problem with john - b5r2

    I highly appreciate your effort in making racking my brain a little bit easier! Since I've been solving this mystery for almost 4 days, I am tired.

    So...

    I had exactly followed your instruction at first. I had entered commands you provided me with, then I modified little database( to look like userass).
    I am baffled because John didn't manage to crack this. It said it was zero guesses. Does this proves that the installation is wrong? I hardly believe ,since I tried it also on the VMware (but b5r3) and it didn't work either.
    Any solutions? Should I consider burning another CD with b5r1 if it is more stable?

    Thanks in advance

Similar Threads

  1. A little help with John
    By Garg0yle in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-11-2010, 08:15 PM
  2. John the ripper configuration problem
    By Dante in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-30-2010, 01:18 PM
  3. John the ripper in BT4
    By snaes in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-14-2009, 01:01 AM
  4. trouble with john
    By benzslr123 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-29-2008, 08:00 PM
  5. Help with John
    By Acester in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 08-20-2008, 01:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •