Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: WICD network manager

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default WICD network manager

    Hello from australia, I've been playing around with bt5 for two weeks or so and i'm at a loss about a problem I am currently facing.

    When I first tried bt5 I installed it onto a spare partition as I didn't want to wait for my AWUS036H to arrive and my laptops inbuilt card supported packet injection. It all worked fine. I've since uninstalled and reinstalled bt5 as a virtual machine using virtual box,. My 36H arrived so I passed it through to backtrack using virtual box then started my vm.

    bt5 detects the interface as wlan0 and I can run airodump-ng with no problems at all and successfully sniff/capture/inject packets but for some reason WICD can't detect any wireless networks. Any ideas at all as to what the cause is?

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: WICD network manager

    This problem was coming on my system too which has internal wnic, but after running the command -> iwlist wlan0 scan , wicd started detecting wireless networks. Also, check wicd settings [preferences > general settings > wireless interface -> should be [wlan0]].

  3. #3
    Good friend of the forums comaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    338

    Default Re: WICD network manager

    Did you properly start it ? (in konsole : wicd start)
    Did you make sure your interface was in managed mode and not still on monitor mode ?
    Running both KDE and GNOME BT5 flawlessly. Thank you !

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: WICD network manager

    Quote Originally Posted by comaX View Post
    Did you properly start it ? (in konsole : wicd start)
    Did you make sure your interface was in managed mode and not still on monitor mode ?
    I tried wicd start but it had no effect, yes it doesn't matter what mode it is WICD just can't see it. It's very strange.

  5. #5
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: WICD network manager

    Every time you run airodump-ng it starts the interface in Monitor mode, if you do not switch to Managed mode manually, it will not be able to connect to any network or see any.

    First check if device is in Managed mode:

    iwconfig "your interface"

    See the info and mode set...If in monitor mode, switch to managed mode:

    ifconfig wlan0 down
    iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
    ifconfig wlan0 up

    Now try starting wicd:
    /etc/init.d/wicd start

    Now check if any AP appears:
    iwlist wlan0 scan

    Luck.

Similar Threads

  1. WICD and Network Manager
    By snafu777 in forum BackTrack 5 General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-02-2012, 01:34 PM
  2. BTR5R2-KDE-32 wicd network manager
    By 4008032 in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-30-2012, 07:38 AM
  3. wicd network manager no abre
    By danii in forum Soporte en Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-07-2010, 01:14 PM
  4. i cant open wicd network manager help !!
    By wa7shaimbot in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-10-2009, 10:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •